You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.



Electronica / Pop Winnipeg, MB, CA  CA


  • Thu

    May 21

    Portland, OR, US | 4:00pm

    Goldenboy - Last Giant - The Breaking GoldenboyLast GiantThe BreakingWhite Eagle Saloon | Thursday, May 21, 2015 Tickets on sale now!About GoldenboyYou can't blame Goldenboy's Shon Sullivan for taking a little breather. Since the release of his band's 2003 debut Blue Swan Orchestra -- a KCRW favorite that featured guest vocals by Elliott Smith on "Summertime" -- Goldenboy has trekked near forever on the road, supporting the likes of Bright Eyes, Neil Finn, Stephen Malkmus and Grandaddy. For most of these shows, our Goldenboy was doing double-duty as well, playing multiple instruments with Finn, the Rentals, Eels and others on tours across America, Europe and all points in between. Straight outta suburban Diamond Bar, a few miles southeast of Los Angeles, former music student Sullivan had been spotted as a valuable player early on, first as a member of Spain. When Elliott Smith got wind of Sullivan's prowess on guitar, piano and cello, he quickly drafted him into his band; while performing with Smith, Sullivan began developing his own material, and thus the Goldenboy concept was born."It started as a solo side project," says Sullivan. "I started writing the first record while I was playing for Elliott, which I did for four years. Everyone had nicknames on the tour, and Goldenboy' was mine, cause I was a guy from the faraway hill country or something. It stuck." A hauntingly lyrical batch of indie-pop brilliance, Blue Swan Orchestra was recorded with drummer Bryan Bos and bears distant traces of Smith's influence. Goldenboy's second release, Underneath the Radio (2006), found Sullivan and Bos in a gloriously unclichd outpouring of tunes drenched in nostalgic melancholia and blissful melodic invention; they're joined by a cast of heavies including Neil Finn, Lisa Germano, Scott McPherson, Matt Sharp and Phil Jordan. The new Sleepwalker dovetails nicely with the understated charms of Goldenboy's first two albums. The hard-charging yet plaintive "Different Moon" starts the set with a gentle vocal urgency and an insistent drive; there's "a different moon on the rise," Sullivan sings. Typically untypical is the way his soothing pop harmonies dart into the dark, revealing an emotional intricacy never far from the surface. In the layered guitars of "She Belongs to Me" or the playful piano of "Chelsea Girl," with its classic 60s-70s chord progressions and slide guitar frills, there linger shades of Bowie/Mott, perhaps. "Body and Soul" justifies its five minutes-plus in a hurtling mini-odyssey whose buoyant rock thump wrapped in twinkly guitars and fleet trumpets undergoes beautifully curious harmonic twists for suggestive shifts in expressive terrain. Sullivan's use of several vintage keyboards and a crystalmicrophone found in a second-hand music store in Australia give songs like the wistful "Anna Said" ("It's all just a memory...") a persuasive, comforting sound you never want to end.Sleepwalker was recorded at Interstellar and Leaning Pine studios by Sullivan and Jon Crawford, and mastered and sequenced by veteran engineer Don Tyler, who mastered all of Elliott Smith's albums. Tyler has given the album an inviting warmth that's a relief from the hectoring tones of most contemporary rock recordings."It all has to do with not looking at the clock, taking our time, and trying to really develop the arrangements and the feel of the sound," says Sullivan. "The ambience thing was important."Website:http://www.goldenboyband.com/About The BreakingThe Breaking is a pop rock band from Portland, OR. Brainchild of a recovering folk musician who grew up listening to 70s and 90s rock, the band draws inspiration from an amalgam of classic records like Rumors, The Bends, Born to Run, Achtung Baby, It Dont Come Easy, and Recovering the Satellites. Fronted by Adam Sweeney (Incredible Yacht Control, The Cabin Project), the band features Rian Lewis (Crosstide, The Dimes) on drums, Jay Haser (Lifesavas, Marv Ellis band) on bass, and Tim Karplus (Alexander Tragedy, Redwood Son) on guitar. They released their debut EP, Current Through the Wire in December 2013. Swirling psychedelic harmonies, jangly 12-string and growling reverb-laden electric guitars compliment Sweeneys darkly personal songwriting. The band is currently tracking its debut full length, due out in the fall of 2014. The Breaking sound like the resulting genesis of studying 1960s coffeehouse folk music and 1970s acid rock they ripple with a soft fluidity and rich echoing vocals that reverberate with the concept of controlled chaos. Ethan Maffey, The Source Weekly (Bend, OR) The Breaking hits the ground running with their debut EP, Current Through The Wire. The tracks thoroughly grasp the bands vintage rock sound and will leave you hungry for more. This is a superb debut from a band with some serious musical chops. Ellene Smith, KZME 107.1FMWebsite:http://the-breaking.com/Map & Directions

  • Fri

    May 22

    Salem, OR, US | 8:00pm
  • Sat

    May 23

    Hillsboro, OR, US | 8:00pm



Bio: Having narrowly escaped from their parents' basements unscathed, Goldenboy have offered their brand of electronic bedroom style music to set afloat in the great sea of recorded music. From the heart of the continent, trapped in an abandoned commodities exchange building since early 2010, Goldenbo...See Full Bio

Icon_twitter Icon_facebook 1302031434_205625279466268_171236049571858_728217_3695282_n Icon_facebook Icon_myspace Icon_twitter


Twitter_icon_for_status: Thought we were done with this weather. What's going on #montreal? #snow #montroyale http://t.co/q0pIWTKUQo

Recent Blogs


Be the first to ask GOLDENBOY a question!

200 characters remaining

Submit Question


  • Song Plays 41
  • Total Fans 1,136
  • ReverbNation Fans 43
  • Facebook Likes 185
  • Twitter Followers 903
  • Widget Impressions 5