Porcupine / Bio

La Crosse, Wi trio Porcupine organically forges its singular brand of Rock'n'Roll reminiscent of the late-90s alternative without compromise. Un-yielded by what's trendy, Casey Virock (guitars/vocals) with Dave Reinders (bass) and Ian Prince (drums) derive some of their inspiration from 70's classic rock and 60's British psychedelica, resulting in a Swervedriver meets Queens of The Stone Age type sound.

Porcupine was founded in early 2006 by Casey Virock and Ex-Space Bike Co-Member Davey Reinders. Hoping to spring board off their recent success from Space Bike, including opening slots for Frank Black, The Descendants, The Melvins, The Jesus Lizard and Everclear, Porcupine began touring and playing the Midwest. Over the last 6 years Porcupine has continued to build momentum. They have released two full length LP's, two split 7" singles, a record charting at #115 in the CMJ top 200, opening slots with the Meat Puppets and Mission of Burma and songs featured on T.V. shows, such as, The Real World, Best Ink, and The Challenge.

Ian Prince has been supplying the backbone for top-notch indie bands like Story of the Sea, Houston and Kid Dakota for well over a decade. Possessing the perfect combination of play-for-the-song sensibility and an "all or nothing" attitude, Prince is an undeniable powerhouse on the drums. Porcupine is set to release a new six song EP on Riot House Records in early December.
Porcupine releases so far include:

03/13/2009 "The Trouble with You" -BlueWorm records.

7/10/2009 Porcupine "Live at the Warehouse"

11/04/2011 split 7inch (Porcupine/ MetalGhost )- BigAction records.

04/11/2012 (3 song) 7-inch vinyl - Hangup records "Witness to a Chase Scene"/ "Dare You to Jump"/"Evil Twin".

12/10/2012 "The Sensation of Being Somebody" 12 inch vinyl released on -Hangup records.

05/17/2013 "A*Star/Porcupine split 7-inch w/songs "ForceField"+"Black-n-Blue"- MoonSounds records.

04/12/2014 Porcupine "I See Sound" ep Riot House records

11/05/2015 Porcupine "Carrier Wave" ep Riot House records.

General Info

Band Members
Casey Virock - Vocals/Electric Guitar, Ian Prince - Drums, Greg Norton - Bass
Artist Name
Profile Page
Active Since
Rock / Indie / pop

Contact Info

La Crosse, WI

Similar Artists

  • Swervedriver
  • Queens of the Stone Age
  • Nirvana
  • SpaceBike