Bomb Atomic / Bio

There is an inherent danger in being funky. Funky is an indescribable mess. The great Bernard Wright once described it as, and I quote: "the difference between those new jeans you bought yesterday and those old holy ones you aint never gonna throw away". In a place that thrives on definition like Fort Worth, the funk has always been hidden under a veneer of country, blues, jazz or rock. Bomb Atomic is the violent reaction caused by suppressing the funk for too long. Like a blood vessel bursting from gooey congestion, Bomb Atomic explodes with an energy not easily lost in the cloud of banjos, mustaches and soft folk that beats in the blood of Texas. A four piece funk rock ensemble that hearkens back to the days of "Blood Sugar Sex Magic" and "Science".
When the Villain Vanguard and Get Well both disintegrated in 2011, bass player Elliot Arriaza (Get Well) Guitarist Jason Pollard (Get Well) and singer Beef (VV) formed Bomb Atomic to be a church for the disaffected funky in Fort Worth. With the addition of guitarist Henry Sepulvada (Future on Fire) and rotating cast of weirdo drummers Bomb Atomic was born. The name itself was taken from the great poet Cappadonna. After the departure of Jason and the inclusion of Ryan Spetch as full time drummer, Bomb Atomic brought their patented blend of funk rock and soul to fort worth for nearly two years, releasing a "A Pysco-Nauts Love Song" in 2013. Ashlyn Shanafelt joined to play drums in 2014, and Jason Pollard came back playing keys as well as guitar this time around. 2015 sees Bomb Atomic poised to release their second EP, and expand their reach in the metroplex and beyond.

General Info

Band Members
Vox- Beef, Guitar- Henry Sepulveda, Drums- Ryan Spetch, Bass- Eliot Arriaza
Artist Name
Bomb Atomic
Profile Page
Active Since
Funk / Rock / Progressive

Contact Info

Fort Worth, TX

Similar Artists

  • Incubus
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • Rage Against The Machine
  • Al Green