The Cables ( from San Diego circa 9...

US El Cerrito, CA Rock


Bio: From 1996 to 2006 Mike Flinn recorded and performed as The Cables, a mostly power pop band that started in San Diego and ended in San Francisco. In August of 1997 The Cables full length debut Five O’clock Shadow was released on bay area indie 11345 records. In 1998 Mike relocated to the San Franc... See Full Bio

More Info


“The new self-titled seven-inch vinyl may only have four songs, but they are very good songs that showcase the band's range. The Cables, who now reside in the San Francisco Bay Area, were formed in 1996 in San Diego. Band members include Mike Flinn, songwriter, vocals, guitar, and keyboards; Eben Henner, guitar, bass, and vocals; Billy Lovd, bass, guitar, and vocals; and Trevor Wend on drums. Flinn's compositions go from manic, riff-heavy on "The Wounded Man" to sparse and sorrowful on "South Pity." I hear tinges of Ric Ocasek of the Cars on "Starsick" and the influence of David Bowie on "Driftwood." Flinn recorded most of the tracks in the Bay Area but did the final touches in San Diego with coproducer Mike Kamoo of the Stereotypes at his San Diego studio. Coming back to one's home town can bring out feelings that add guts and substance and result in a raw, natural performance. ”
—  Phil Harmonic, San Diego Troubadour
All Press


Play All | Queue All | Share All


All Store Items