You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

In the Silence / Bio

Hailing from Sacramento California, In the Silence wield an original atmospheric progressive metal sound that is both melodic, melancholy, and heavy, with an emotive, clean vocal style, expert musicianship, and attention to great songwriting. The band was formed in 2007 after singer/guitarist Josh Burke met drummer Niko Panagopoulos at the Asylum goth/industrial club in Sacramento. Having similar interests in music, after the club let out, Josh played a few demos for him; Niko was impressed, and the two started jamming. After failing to find a bassist with the right chemistry and skill level, they auditioned Dennis Davis, Josh’s longtime friend and bassist of his previous band, Aetheria. The chemistry clicked, and soon after they began performing live in the Sacramento metal scene. Nathan Higgins joined on guitar in early 2009, and was with the band until June 2014. The current lineup includes the three founding members and keyboardist Biagio Guadagnolo (formerly of Earache Records artists With Passion).
Their self-financed debut album A Fair Dream Gone Mad was released independently in 2012, and after selling out of their initial printing, was re-released by Sensory Records in May of 2013. The album surprised critics and fans alike, reaching #2 on www.metalstorm.net's Best Debut Album of 2012, and # 5 on their Best Progressive Metal Album of 2012, and #9 on decoymusic.com editor Rick Gebhardt's top ten of 2012, and received numerous glowing reviews across the progressive metal blogosphere. Standout track Beneath these Falling Leaves features a rare GuitarViol (bowed guitar) performance by Jarek Tatarek (formerly of Polish thrashers Astheroth). The momentum of the release carried them through to a notable performance at the legendary ProgPower USA festival in Atlanta Georgia. By far their biggest live event to date, the band were pleasantly surprised to be greeted by fans from as far away as Brazil and New Zealand. They followed up their performance with a west-coast/southwest tour with Secrets of the Sky in October 2013, and numerous regional performances.
While critics and fans have often been drawn comparisons to industry giants Opeth, Katatonia, Porcupine Tree, Riverside and others, it is clear In the Silence have their own sound. The music is both dynamic and progressive, while maintaining an accessibility and melodic sensibility that transcends the progressive metal genre. Their lyrics are both poetic and emotional, drawing from personal experience and relationships, and an interest in metaphysics and spirituality, and concern for the world and humanity at large.
As their popularity continues to grow, the band are currently focused on pre-production for the follow up to A Fair Dream Gone Mad. 10 songs are planned, which will build on the foundation laid with AFDGM, and expand further into as yet uncharted territory. As always, the focus will be on writing great songs, and winning over fans of rock, metal, and progressive music the world over!

General Info

Band Members
Josh Burke - Vocals/Guitar/Songwriting, Niko Panagopoulos - Drums, Dennis Davis - Bass, Biagio Guadagnolo - Keyboard
Artist Name
In the Silence
Home Page
Active Since
Metal / Progressive / Rock

Contact Info

Sacramento, CA
Self Managed

Similar Artists

  • Katatonia
  • Anathema
  • Type O Negative
  • Porcupine Tree
  • Opeth