The Jeff Love Band / Press

“Best Local Band in the Best of Ithaca 2015”

“Danby resident Jeff Love formed his band in early 2011, a brain child of local jazz great Neal Massa. Neal and Jeff, then playing together in another band, decided to make some of their own music in a reinvented band, one with the same funk and soul but with some tweaks. Rehearsals for the Jeff Love Band started early in 2011 with a first gig at Castaways in Ithaca, playing at a benefit to support the Cayuga Waterfront Trail. The band’s genre is classic funk, soul, rhythm and blues. They will sometimes break down into a smaller trio or quartet without vocals, or play a jazz set, if the occasion arises. The band is made up of 11 musicians: Jeff and Neal, Ariel Arbisser, Amanda Massa, Joe Massa, Donald House, De’Marquis Graves, Jim Wells, Bob McMahon, Marc Devokaitis and Nick Pauldine, billing themselves as “The Funk of the Finger Lakes.””

“The Jeff Love Band pays homage to the classic funk, soul and jazz of yesterday while imparting its contemporary vision on each mesmerizing offering. This eclectic brand of music brings music lovers of all ages together each time the JLB takes the stage. As a result, each Jeff Love Band event is not only a musical performance, but a social movement – a celebration of rhythmic collaboration.”

“Friday, the Jeff Love Band will return to the Haunt with the repertoire of classic funk, soul and R&B.”

“The Jeff Love Band brings its high-energy show and deep catalogue of funk, soul and jazz tunes to the Haunt.”

“Put a Little Love in Your Heart at Oasis this Saturday”

Ithaca Times

“Amanda Massa & Ariel Arbisser receive "Honorable Mention" as 2011's best female vocalists in "the Jimmie's"”

Jim Catalano - Ithaca Journal

“Jeff interprets and adapts classics from artists such as Stevie Wonder, Bill Withers, Bobby Womack and many more to his own unique vocal prowess with enough energy to keep the crowd dancing for hours. Background singers Amanda Massa and Ariel Arbisser (winner of Best Mixed Soloist of 2010 in the national Contemporary A Cappella Recording Awards) take the lead on a handful of songs as well, showcasing their own talents and abilities. The JLB is rife with a tight rhythm section consisting of Neal on keys, Joe Massa on guitar, Donald House on bass, Al Hartland on drums and Jim Wells on percussion. The horns really give the band a strong funky vibe with Jay Worley and Nick Pauldine on sax and Bob McMahon on trumpet.”