Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

Laletta / Blog

AND HERE WE ARE AGAIN: A Six Track Study in Moving On by Moving Forward

**The following is an evaluative essay/review of of our debut EP, Neon Halos, by author/artist Brandon Ryan. Jenny & Me definitely hearts Brandon Ryan!**

After four months of intensive recording Jenny&Me, the New Jersey based nouveau-indie pop twosome composed of Jenny Pilong (J&M, Hotsy Totsy) and Stephen J. Kocher (Best Wishes, J&M, SkotchDape), is prepared to release its freshman EP Neon Halos, a six-track study highlighting the duo’s penchant for generating up-beat, toothsome melodies suffused with overwhelmingly self-affirming lyrical sentiments. The album’s sonic range cuts a broad swath, hailing influences as multitudinous as they are diverse, including Glen Campbell, the Talking Heads, Regina Spektor, Cyndi Lauper, Lykke Li, the Tallest Man on Earth, Miles Davis, and the Arcade Fire. Stephen J. Kocher comes into his own as an artist whose work smacks frenetic, tizzied even; his years of sonic eclecticism suddenly and candidly evident as he parses off one pop-minded riff after another. Taken with Jenny Pilong’s penchant for waxing soulful, her four-part harmonies often Doo-Wop-suffused, the album bespeaks a duo whose time together has proved both synergistic and complimentary. Add to this the influence of producer/composer/performer Andrew Lipke, and the sultry stylings of Taylor Lenahan, and Neon Halos carries itself singularly, devoid of sycophantic emulation which plagues so many artist’s first offerings. This is a band prepared to move on by moving forward. Lastly, those heretofore accustomed to seeing the J&M live will be excited to know that the duo, in seeking to do maximal justice to the lush accompaniments contained on the new EP, will begin performing with a backing band, the members of which are to be officially announced before their Record Release December 11th of this year.