x

The Empty Vessels / Blog

The Punt, Radio and Farm Animals

Oooh, the first blog of 2010, it's a bit slack really considering there's only 8 months left till Christmas, but hey, we've been busy boys...

With the arrival of 2010, The Empty Vessels have pushed in the clutch and moved up to 2nd gear, we sold over 200 tickets for our first gig at the O2 Academy in Oxford, got our first air play both here in the UK and across the pond in the US and entertained our first London crowd in Kings Cross, throw in a load more gigs and that has been our year so far.

A few Fridays ago we had a call from Oxford’s local music mag nightshift to let us now that we had been chosen along with 21 other Oxford bands to play a showcase which is held in the city every year called The Punt. The Punt is­ 22 acts across five venues, playing a 25-minute set and sets staggered over the evening to let as many people as possible see as many great new bands as possible.

We are really proud to have been chosen to play The Punt and follow in the foot steps of The Foals, The Young Knives, Stornoway (recent 4AD Sining) Little Fish ( Just back from supporting Them Crooked Vultures) and Richard Walters among others.

The next few months see us playing more gigs in and around the Oxfordshire area, a few little festival thingies and hopefully some partying down in the Jericho St Fair. We are also working on developing the TEV sound to a new level by bringing in some new sounds, styles and farm animals...

Come see us soon and buy us a drink.

TEV.

Here is the Punt line up: ....

Malmaison 7pm Helen Pearson http://www.myspace.com/helenpearsonmusic 7.45 We Are Ugly But We Have The Music http://www.myspace.com/weareuglybut 8.30 Samuel Zasada http://www.myspace.com/samuelzasada 9.15 Telling The Bees http://www.myspace.com/tellingthebees

The Purple Turtle 7.30 The Anydays http://www.myspace.com/theanydays 8.15 Dead Jerichos http://www.myspace.com/deadjerichos 9pm Sealings http://www.myspace.com/SEALINGS 9.45 Risen In Black http://www.myspace.com/riseninblack 10.30 Spring Offensive http://www.myspace.com/springoffensive

The Wheatsheaf 8.15 Message To Bears http://www.myspace.com/messagetobears 9pm Fixers http://www.myspace.com/fixerstheband 9.45 Empty Vessels http://www.theemptyvessels.com/ 10.30 Taste My Eyes http://www.myspace.com/tastemyeyes

Coco Royal 8.30 Aiden Canaday http://www.myspace.com/aidencanaday 9.15 The Roundheels http://www.myspace.com/roundheels 10pm Mariana Magnavita http://www.myspace.com/marianamagnavita 10.45 Scarlett In The Wilderness http://www.myspace.com/scarlettinthewilderness

The Cellar 9pm Beard of Zeuss http://www.myspace.com/beardofzeuss 9.45 Ute http://www.myspace.com/utetheband 10.30 Scholars http://www.myspace.com/thescholarsuk 11.15 Barbare11a http://www.myspace.com/barbare11aband 12 midnight Vicars of Twiddly http://www.myspace.com/vicarsoftwiddly

There are a limited number (100) all-venue Punt passes on sale, from The Scribbler (on Bonn Square in town), The Music Box on Cowley Road or online here: http://www.oxfordmusic.net/product.php?link=new&id=1984 £7 each....