Oblivious Bob / Blog

Oblivious Bob Story

Oblivious Bob’s debut album is a collection of nine original songs written, recorded and produced by Mike Book, Bob Miller and Dave Walton based in Lancaster, PA. The album was released on January 23rd, 2012 and has been distributed worldwide for digital download and is also available on CD.

This project began in 2009 by three present and former members of the Lancaster based band The SilverHawks, which has been playing regionally for 22 years. The album is a creative collaboration by Book, Miller and Walton. The songs are a cross section of styles ranging from the ballad 2B19 to the bluesy Who’s Gonna Love Ya and The Band, the reggae rhythms of Goodbye Elaine to the straight forward rockin’ Rulemakers and Can’t Have Her. All through the album there is a thread of Modern American Country music as well.

Oblivious Bob began as an unplugged part-time project by Mike Book and Bob Miller, playing whenever and wherever time permitted. They played songs written by Mike Book, who is credited for all the lyrics on the album, with Bob Miller adding his own rhythm guitar style to the songs. In 2009, veteran guitarist and former SilverHawk member Dave Walton was asked to join Mike and Bob as lead guitarist, to add creative input, and to help finish developing the songs with the goal of producing this album. Book, Miller and Walton did all the recording, mixing and production on this their initial project together. It was a learning process and a great deal of satisfaction for all three.

With the help of friends and family adding additional instrumentation, vocals and artwork, two years after the project was started, it was finished and ready for distribution. We hope you like it.

Oblivious Bob is:

Mike Book: Lead Vocals, Guitar & Sax

Bob Miller: Guitar, Backing Vocal

Dave Walton: Lead Guitar, Backing Vocal, Lead Vocal

All Lyrics composed by Mike Book

All songs written, recorded and produced by Book/Miller/Walton © 2012

Mastered by Tim Milliken

Artwork: Micki Smith, Lauren Newcomer

This project would not have been possible without the help of the following friends and fine musicians:

John Curry: Bass

Mike Zabatta: Drums, Percussion

Robin Church: Keyboards, Flugelhorn, Percussion

Lewis Bechtold: Blues Harp on The Band

Additional Backing Vocals:

Anna Robinson,

Emily Robinson

Kara Smith

Contact: Mike Book – hawkmaster@comcast.net

Website: www.obliviousbob.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/ObliviousBob

ReverbNation: www.reverbnation.com/obliviousbob

YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/ObliviousBobMusic