Dive Index / Bio

The new Dive Index album, The Surface We Divide continues the collaborative process; this time featuring wonderful contributions from Joseph Arthur, Cat Martino, and former Ride vocalist Mark Gardener, as well as up-and-coming London-based artist Patrick Cooper. The vocal mixture lends a wide stylistic range to the album, from textured baritones to floating falsettos. Cat Martino even teams up with both Joseph and Mark for two modern takes on the duet. Julia Kent/cello (Antony & the Johnsons) and Kevin O’Donnell/drums (Andrew Bird) return to add their unmistakeable organic feel to the songs. Will Thomas' music and production helps maintain continuous thread that holds the album together.

Reflection, water, sleep, lights, trees and floating are some of the recurring lyrical themes. And from these the Surface title was born. Recording spanned the globe with sessions in New York, Oxford, Chicago, Brooklyn and, believe it or not, a fitting room in an East London shop - apparently Patrick needed some quiet time.

The last Dive Index album, Mid/Air, featured Natalie Walker, Merz, Ian Masters, and Cat Martino and was fully embraced by KCRW’s Jason Bentley, who contributed to the remix album Collisions along with The Album Leaf, Tunng, and Roger Eno.

General Info

Band Members
Will Thomas, plus collaborators Cat Martino, Mark Gardener, Joseph Arthur, Patrick Cooper, Kevin O'Donnell, Julia Kent. Mid/Air also featured Ian Masters, Nata
Artist Name
Dive Index
Profile Page
Active Since
Electronica / Indie / Alternative

Contact Info

New York, NY