Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

The Royal Noise / Bio

Founded in 2010 by guitarist Johan Harvey and saxophonist/keyboardist Mike LaBombard, The Royal Noise forges an ebullient fusion of sinewy funk, gritty jazz and psychedelic rock, reminiscent of funk fusion acts like Herbie Hancock and Lettuce, with the dance/jam sensibility of bands such as Umphey's McGee and Phish.

Since then, they have performed consistently across the East Coast with little regard for stylistic conventions. Their high energy performances, strengthened by the addition of bassist Rodrigo Pichardo and drummer Aaron Zarrow, deliver shape-shifting whirlwinds of tireless grooves, catchy melodies, incessant experimentation and ever-evolving, earthy jams soaked in heavy East Coast funk. The quartet’s dynamic elasticity, musical mastery and their ability to blend the lines between composition and improvisation set them apart from their peers and keep avid listeners returning to shows.

‘Unbreakable’ is the group’s eagerly awaited second studio release, produced by Shane Baldwin at Elevated Basement in Savannah, GA. Their latest efforts feature infectious grooves, hypnotic melodies and an electronic evolution in sonic textures, as this “pack of rhythm devils” (Brian Robbins, Jambands.com) continues to redefine modern jazz-funk fusion

General Info

Band Members
Johan Harvey - Guitar; Mike LaBombard - Saxophones & Keys; Rodrigo Pichardo - Bass; Aaron Zarrow - Drums
Artist Name
The Royal Noise
Profile Page
Active Since
Funk / Dance / Jam

Contact Info

Philadelphia, PA
Self Managed

Similar Artists

  • The New Mastersounds
  • Lettuce
  • Herbie Hancock
  • Umphrey's McGee
  • Lotus