Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

the Coolin' System / Bio

Seasoned funk musicians Pablo Ahogado (keyboards), James Bonomo (drums), J. D. Douglas (tenor saxophone/flute), Sam Farkas (guitar), David A. Guy (bass), Mikie Martel (trumpet) and Andrew Wilmoth (percussion) make up the seven-piece soul-jazz band the Coolin' System. The tight-knit group of friends jammed together off and on in various combinations for eight years before a weekly hang at Martel's and Douglas' house in Nashville's Sylvan Park neighborhood solidified the group in November 2008. "The first official rehearsal was when Obama got elected," Ahogado reminisces. "We were all jamming and watching TV." Guy continues, "We were rehearsing and learning tunes every week. When we got our first gig in Jan. 2009, the name the Coolin' System came about from a Jack McDuff album featuring one of the first tunes we learned 'The Prophet' and called the Heatin' System. It was our way to pay homage to one of the giants of the genre." Fast forward to 2011 and the group has staged sold-out shows, released their first 7" single The Prophet b/w Dracula, opened for the Dirty Dozen Brass Band and performed at the Head Jamz Music Festival in Adams, TN. The band has also been highlighted on BBC's Craig Charles Funk And Soul Show. With the release of their self-titled debut on G.E.D. Soul Records, the Coolin’ System are continuing to cement their place in the soul-jazz arena.

General Info

Band Members
Pablo Ahogado, James Bonomo, J. D. Douglas, Sam Farkas, David A. Guy, Mikie Martel, Andrew Wilmoth
Artist Name
the Coolin' System
Home Page
Active Since
R&B/Soul / Acid Jazz / Groove

Contact Info

Nashville, TN