Alpthraum / Bio

What is Alpthraum

Alpthraum is a self-produced musical project coming straight from Montreal, Canada. It was created in June 2009 as the project of two young multi-instrumentalists, Gustave G. and Allex Williamson. The word "Alptraum" (without the H) means nightmare in German.

It all began as a project with two members, till in 2010 when due to musical differences, Allex Williamson leaves. Alpthraum became Gustave's personal project since then, leaving behind the previous sound and feel, by replacing it with a new style, musical philosophy, and transforming it into a very unique symphonic metal sound.

With the open contribution of various session musicians, Alpthraum is now led by Gustave G, musically and creatively. Among the session members: Edwin Lasalle on drums, Christopher L. on bass, Alex W. on vocals and occasionnally E.C. Stanley contributes on symphonic arrangements.

Alpthraum's music is influenced by the human mind, reality, surrealism and dreams. Dreams that can differ from reflective, harmonized, emotional to chaotic, dark and apocalyptic.

One promo album, "Dying Sun", was released back in 2010. In 2011, Alpthraum released an ambitious full-lenght album entitled "Eyes of a Monument". It featured a very atmospheric and surreal feel, a unique bombastic symphonic sound with heavy guitars and powerful drums.

And there are more things to come...

Get the new album in digital format. The album is at www.alpthraum.bandcamp.com

General Info

Band Members
Gustave G. - All music, artwork, Alex W. (session)- Additional vocals, Edwin Lasalle (session) - Drums, Christopher L. (session) - Bass.
Artist Name
Profile Page
Active Since
Metal / Symphonic Metal

Contact Info

Montréal, QC, CA

Similar Artists

  • Sceptic Flesh
  • Devin Townsend
  • Epica
  • Dimmu Borgir
  • Shade Empire