The Dirty Words / Bio

The Dirty Words formed in 2004 when longtime musical partners David Clemmer and Joel Shupack met Mike Chastain through a community theater. When Joel left to pursue worldly ambitions, Clemmer and Chastain discovered bassist Scott Page, and it was then that the core of the band was established. Employing the musical landscapes of Radiohead and Soul Coughing, the sarcastic ferocity of Modest Mouse, the heartfelt reflections of Neutral Milk Hotel, all wrapped up in a relentless barrage of harsh noises, The Dirty Words combine into a musical mail-bomb that you open on Christmas. After a brief stint with a duo of saxophone players and an even shorter session with another guitarist, The Dirty Words picked up hardcore/metal guitarist Aaron Poplin after just one practice, returning him to his indie rock roots. Over the years the band has tightened and evolved into a vehicle for a wide variety of concise but ornate, well-written songs, underscored by powerful, energetic arrangements that are products of full collaboration from each of the four members. While Clemmer is the chief songwriter and arranger, he brings the skeletal structure on which Chastain, Page, and Poplin supply the muscle, blood, and soul.

General Info

Band Members
David Clemmer, Mike Chastain, Scott Page, Aaron Poplin
Artist Name
The Dirty Words
Profile Page
Active Since
Rock / Indie Rock

Contact Info

Portland, OR

Similar Artists

  • Soul Coughing
  • Modest Mouse