Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

The Dirty Politicians / Bio

The Dirty Politicians are a project that started a long time ago in Chapel Hill, NC. In 1997ish Josh Macri and Aaron Spell wanted to have a band so they could play a show with the local horror punk band Psycho 13. They were 14 and 15 respectively. Most of the older guys didn't take it seriously including Aaron's brother Adam Spell. One night they were practicing in Spell brother's parent's trailer and Adam got interested in singing for the group. Meanwhile Josh Macri made the acquaintance of Dan Kinney in trying to start a New York Dolls style band. The four got together and started jamming. Adding in Lara Marx for Bass the beginning of The Dirty Politicians were coming up.

One of our first major additions came when Noah Fiorrentino took over for bass. His complex bass lines became a signature for the band. With Noah in the lineup the band started playing shows at the local teen center and started building a local following with the Chapel Hill punk rockers.

Eventually due to creative differences Dan Kinney left the band. This was shortly after the release of the New Age 7 inch. He was then replaced with Brian who remained in the band until he finished college at UNC.

Brian was then replaced by Eddie Oakes of the band Patriot. This was a cool step because Patriot had been the biggest local Oi! band in Chapel Hill. With the help of Eddie TDP started booking some really solid gigs and eventually did a short east coast tour with Kansas City Punkers "Tanka Ray". Eddie ended up leaving the band due to an inability of the younger members of the band to commit.

Enter Joey Lopez on guitar. Joey played with us through the final shows as TDP before the breakup. He recorded our unreleased Songs on a disc we loosely call "It's where you live" which includes the track 1707.

TDP ended up breaking up in 2002ish due to declining interest from the members and some legal problems.

Now in 2013 we have reunited the band with the very strong lineup of Adam Spell, Aaron Spell, Josh Macri, TJ Lout, and Ash Lopez. The band has clicked together right out of the gate. within weeks we had already mastered the old material we wanted to play and started writing new material. The Dirty Politicians are stronger than they have ever been and since we aren't teenagers anymore we are ready to give it our all.

General Info

Band Members
Adam Spell, Aaron Spell, Josh Macri, TJ Lout, Ash Lopez
Artist Name
The Dirty Politicians
Home Page
Active Since
Punk / Punk Rock

Contact Info

Chapel Hill, NC

Similar Artists

  • U.S. Bombs
  • Cock Sparrer Official
  • The Business