Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

Crushpile / Bio

“The other C word”.

Formed in March 2001, The original lineup featuring vocalist Ken Hoyt (of Dallas based punk band Stickpin), Jeff Hoyt on drums, guitarists Andy Schanel (ex- hardcore band Condemned) and Mike Domenioski, and Sean “Goat” Amlie on bass released two albums and played hundreds of shows in support of their recordings (2001’s self titled release, followed by 2003’s “457”) throughout the Northeastern US. The early sound was heavy and up-tempo, akin to such artists as System of a Down and Pantera. In 2002, the track “Owning Up” was chosen as the official theme song of No Holds Barred Wrestling talk show and the track “Nutlob” was selected as professional wrestler Matt Stryker’s entrance song which helped gain a foothold in the indie wrestling scene. With down to earth attitudes and non-existent egos (except for the on-stage fictional personas of frontman Kenny, who portrays schizophrenia and delusion during performances), the band has never turned down a show and is often found at the bar or in the parking lot partying with their fans. In 2006, Mike and Goat left the band to concentrate on other interests and were replaced by Tony Frato (Rid of Waste, Byron Dean) on bass and Johnny Obrotka on guitar; equally competent musicians and contributors. In February 2010 their third record “The Battle of Syracuse” was released, ushering in a new, more technical and aggressive sound ala a less refined Shadows Fall and a rawer Mastodon.

General Info

Band Members
Ken Hoyt, Jeff Hoyt, Tony Frato, Johnny Obrotka, Andy Schanel
Artist Name
Profile Page
Metal / Progressive Metal / Progressive Rock

Contact Info

Newton, NJ

Similar Artists

  • System of a Down
  • Pantera
  • Soulfly
  • Psychostick
  • Metallica