Cymatic Kicks / Bio

Cymatic Kicks is the creation of Jeff Lordan, who grew up on the North Shore of Massachusetts and has resided in Colorado since 1998. Jeff Lordan played guitar for the bands No Material and Chill Fantastic before delving into the world of electronic music production. While technology has gotten to a point where the fusing of live instrumentation and electronic beats has become much easier in recent years, mixing electric guitar and electronic music has been a passion of his since the mid-nineties.

The music of Cymatic Kicks is a mix of rock, funk, jazz, downtempo, electro-house, and hip-hop. It is performed with a laptop, guitar, and many midi controllers to create live arrangements on the fly. While tough to put into a specific category, much of it is a jazz and rock approach to electronic music.

Live improvisation is an integral part of Cymatic Kicks, and guest artists are often a staple of the live performance. Guest artists so far have included Danny Meyer on Saxophone (FreeBear, Art Lande's Funko Monderno, the 9th and Lincoln Jazz Orchestra, the Legacy Jazz Orchestra, and the Future Jazz Project, amongst others), Matt Flaherty on guitar (Hot Soup, the Matt Flaherty Trio), and Mirco Altenbach on saxophone (Hot Soup, Dechen Hawk and the Murder of Prose, and the Matt Flaherty Trio).

General Info

Artist Name
Cymatic Kicks
Profile Page

Contact Info

Boulder, CO