TEN-79 / Bio

Formed in 2012 by original members Gary Luckhurst, Wally Youngman, Jim Cadwellender and Paul Coleman. The TEN- 79 story began as a band concept which placed a passion for writing and performing original music at the forefront of proceedings, leaving egos firmly at the door. Named after the road that brings them all together, the four piece joined in putting together a catalogue of original material using a diverse heritage of influences including Led Zeppelin, the Levellers and REM as a catalyst for the creation of their own unique sound. Applying themselves to regular gigging they quickly established a solid reputation for their distinct musical caliber and earned themselves a loyal fan base. In 2014 the band released their debut album ‘Love, Life & Lies’ to great acclaim seeing their debut single ‘Wayside’ receiving airtime on former Shed Seven front man Rick Witter’s ‘Disco Down’ Minster FM show and follow up single ‘The Gathering’ featuring regularly on national BBC introducing programmes. Further material from the album has continued to gain frequent international airplay as far afield as the United States and Australia and can regularly be heard on the internet station ‘Rocker’s Dive Radio’.

More recently the band has undergone a number of changes which have inevitably seen their regular gigging somewhat reduced and has introduced a number of new band members to the fold. Following the departure of Paul, lead guitarist Brian Hartington stepped up to the plate and quickly established himself as a firm fan favorite with his unique style of playing. Unfortunately soon afterwards the band were hit with another departure in the form of bassist Jim who also decided that the time was right to hang up his boots. With a massive void left to fill, in stepped Martin Fitzgerald a fantastic musician who in his own laid back manner blended straight in to the mix and continues to bring the X factor to proceedings. Fast forward to now and we find ourselves with current line-up Gary, Wally, Martin and Will. Will Robey being the latest addition to the band having taken over on lead guitar following the departure of Brian early 2015.

So now “bang up to date” this ensemble of friends are fired up and ready to rock n roll. The future also looks bright, with a number of gigs already lined up for the remainder of 2015 and a fan base in excess of 12,000 twitter followers. New material is also already in the pipe line, meaning the TEN-79 train is still rolling along and is as vibrant as ever.

Look forward to seeing you soon,

Keep it Slippy! :-)

General Info

Band Members
Gary Luckhurst - Vocals/Songwriting/Acoustic Guitar, Wally Youngman - Drums/Songwriting, Martin Fitzgerald - Bass, Will Robey - Guitar/Vocals/Songwriting, Richard Chapman (Live Sound Engineer) - Engineer
Artist Name
Profile Page
Active Since
Rock / Alternative / Indie

Contact Info

York, UK

Similar Artists

  • R.E.M.
  • Radiohead
  • Stereophonics
  • The Levellers