ASIA Featuring John Payne / Bio

ASIA Featuring John Payne was formed in 2007 and has been touring North America since 2008 playing to enthusiastic fans across the USA and from Canada down to Mexico. A high-powered spinoff of the original ASIA group formed in 1981, ASIA Featuring John Payne consists of John Payne (lead vocals, bass), Jay Schellen (drums), Erik Norlander (keyboards), Moni Scaria (guitar) and Jeff Kollman (guitar). While Payne, Schellen and Norlander have been working together since the band's inception, the current lineup with guitarists Scaria and Kollman was finalized in 2012.

John Payne became the frontman of the supergroup ASIA in 1992 at the invitation of keyboardist Geoff Downes, replacing vocalist/bassist John Wetton. With John Payne fronting the band, ASIA released 8 stunning studio albums, several live albums, a live DVD and toured the world extensively for 14 years.

In 2006, Geoff Downes left the band to reform the 1982 line up for their 25th anniversary. On the 9th of May 2006, John Payne, Geoff Downes, John Wetton, Carl Palmer and Steve Howe contractually agreed that John Payne would continue his 14 year legacy with ASIA as “ASIA Featuring John Payne.”

In 2009 the band released an EP entitled “Military Man.” A new studio album entitled “Americana” is planned for release in 2013.

General Info

Band Members
John Payne, Jay Schellen, Erik Norlander, Moni Scaria, Jeff Kollman
Artist Name
ASIA Featuring John Payne
Profile Page
Active Since
Rock / Progressive Rock / Classic Rock

Contact Info

Los Angeles, CA