Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

Jonathan David Sloate / Bio

'At the bottom line, THE NEW PICASSO is in the same vein of romantic fable that makes pieces like Moulin Rouge! so appealing to audiences. The penniless and creative everyman struggles to accept his identity and along the way finds storybook love and romance. The moving music on the albums swell with emotionality and is sung by a cast of cherished Broadway stars...The ambitious theatrical piece tells the story of a young artist whom a temptress and deceitful art dealer lure down a path of destruction; however, along the way he finds his self, true love, and redemption. Spanning two discs, the music to this fantasy piece is equal parts stirring and familiar...with his score for THE NEW PICASSO, Jonathan David Sloate doesn't disappoint...he plies the emotions of the listeners with smartly constructed chord progressions and beloved, cliche modalities to give us insight into the characters...Naturally, what really draws Broadway babies to the album is the cast he has assembled. The starry eyed hero, Jon Bernard, is expertly sung by Max von Essen. His spirited lyric baritone/tenor vocalizations charm on numbers like the hopeful "From My Mind's Eye," the undulating and angst-ridden "Lost At Sea," and the breathy ballad "All the Lonely People." Robert Cuccioli sings the villain of the show, powerful art dealer Jules de Medici, with poised power. With robust, tangible bravado it is easy to see how he entices Jon with "Art Gives You Immortality," but we see a darker and more sinister side of him when he sings with ferocious fervor on songs like "Kingmaker" and "I'll Destroy Him!." Brooke Sunny Moriber gives life to his childhood sweetheart Jennifer Robbins, singing sweetly on songs like "I Believe." With the same seductive vocal quality as Linda Eder, Ashley Amber brings the siren Alexandra Laurent to life with jazzy sensuality on numbers like "Wind Up Doll" and "Tell Me With You Heart."' -BroadwayWorld by David Clarke. Jonathan David Sloate, award-winning playwright, composer, screenwriter & songwriter, created the original story, music, lyrics, libretto & screenplay to both The Tower Of Babel (26 Festival & Competition Awards) and The New Picasso (41 Festival & Competition Awards). Jonathan collaborated on multiple projects with action-adventure film producer Lawrence Kasanoff (True Lies, Terminator 2: Judgment Day, Mortal Kombat). Jonathan composed the music for USA Networks' Mortal Kombat: Defenders Of The Realm animated television series starring Clancy Brown (The Shawshank Redemption, The Hurricane, SpongeBob SquarePants Movie), Brian Tochi (Revenge of the Nerds, Police Academy, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles), Olivia d'Abo (Wayne's World 2, Conan the Destroyer, The Wonder Years), Cree Summer (The Rugrats Movies), Luke Perry (The Fifth Element, Beverly Hills 90210), Dorian Harewood (Full Metal Jacket, Pacific Heights, Gothika), and Ron Perlman (Alien: Resurrection, Blade II, Hellboy) in collaboration with Film Roman who produce The Simpsons, Family Guy, and King of the Hill for 20th Century Fox Television, and for Warner Bros.' Mortal Kombat Conquest live action television series starring Paolo Montalban (The King and I, Cinderella), Daniel Bernhardt (The Matrix Reloaded), and Kristanna Loken (Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines), shot at Disney/MGM Studios in Lake Buena Vista, FL. Jonathan composed the score for New Line's Mortal Kombat: The Journey Begins, #1 on Billboard magazine's Top Video Sales Charts®. His music has been featured in theatrical trailer campaigns such as Columbia Pictures/Sony Pictures Entertainment Group's Oscar-winning Sense and Sensibility starring Kate Winslet (Titanic, The Holiday, Finding Neverland), Hugh Grant (Bridget Jones's Diary, Nine Months, Notting Hill), Tom Wilkinson (Batman Begins, Shakespeare in Love, Rush Hour), Emma Thompson (Nanny McPhee, Harry Potter), and Alan Rickman (Die Hard, Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, Harry Potter).

The New Picasso: The Musical (Act One) [Original Concept Album Broadway Cast Orchestra Recording]
Music, Lyrics & Book by Jonathan David Sloate
1 "Overture" - The 59-piece Prague Symphony Orchestra
2 "From My Mind's Eye / Summerton’s Warm Hooray!" - Max von Essen, Rodney Hicks, John Jeffrey Martin, Steven M. Goldsmith, William Parry, Brooke Sunny Moriber, & Ensemble
3 "I Believe" - Brooke Sunny Moriber
4 "From My Mind's Eye - Reprise" - Max von Essen
5 "Wind Up Doll" - Ashley Amber
6 "Art Gives You Immortality" - Robert Cuccioli, Joseph Dellger, Tony Freeman, Ashley Amber & Ensemble
7 "Everything You Touch Is Beautiful To Me" - Brooke Sunny Moriber
8 "Save Tomorrow For Another Day" - Rodney Hicks, John Jeffrey Martin, Steven M. Goldsmith & Ensemble with the 59-piece Prague Symphony Orchestra
9 "Lost At Sea" - Max von Essen
10 "Live Your Dream" - Christiane Noll
11 "Kingmaker" - Robert Cuccioli & Max von Essen
12 "Forever" - Max von Essen & Brooke Sunny Moriber
13 "The Tango Of Miracles"
14 "Our Boss Is Really Sumthin'!" - Ashley Amber & Jerry Gallagher
15 "Act One Finale - I’ll Hold You / Time Has Come" - Brooke Sunny Moriber, Max von Essen, Rodney Hicks, William Parry, Elizabeth Earley, Joseph Dellger & Ensemble

The New Picasso: The Musical (Act Two) [Original Concept Album Broadway Cast Orchestra Recording]
Music, Lyrics & Book by Jonathan David Sloate
1 "How The Game Is Played" - Robert Cuccioli & the 59-piece Prague Symphony Orchestra
2 "All The Lonely People" - Max von Essen
3 "A New Day!" - Max von Essen & Ensemble
4 "I’ll Destroy Him!" - Robert Cuccioli
5 "Girl Of My Dreams" - Max von Essen & the 59-piece Prague Symphony Orchestra
6 "The New Picasso" - Joseph Dellger, Tony Freeman, Bob Barth & Ensemble
7 "Fly Away With Me" - Max von Essen
8 "Our Boss Is Really Sumthin'! - Reprise" - Ashley Amber* & Robert Cuccioli
9 "If You Believe" - Rodney Hicks, Max von Essen & the 59-piece Prague Symphony Orchestra
10 "He’s The One" - Ashley Amber
11 "I Can See Her Eyes" - Robert Cuccioli & Max von Essen
12 "Tell Me With Your Heart

General Info

Band Members
Robert Cuccioli, Max von Essen, Ashley Amber, Brooke Sunny Moriber, Rodney Hicks, Christiane Noll, Joseph Dellger, Tony Freeman
Artist Name
Jonathan David Sloate
Home Page
Classical / Musicals for Stage & Cinema / Broadway / Musical / Soundtrack / Pop / Singer Songwriter Instrumental

Contact Info

New York, NY

Similar Artists

  • Andrew Lloyd Webber
  • Billy Joel
  • Elton John
  • Glee :)
  • Michael Bublé