Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

The Shadow Principle / Bio

In August 2010, singer/bassist Dave Tomkins and guitarist Reza Moosavi released a 10-song debut album under the moniker Murder at the Well (available via Bandcamp and iTunes). Shortly thereafter, a change in personnel brought drummer Kurt Berens into the fold. Within weeks a batch of new songs emerged that marked a stylistic departure from the metal-inspired material recorded by Murder at the Well. With the new songs pointing more in the direction of early 80s post-punk and early 70s prog, the decision was made to change the band's name along with its musical direction, and hence The Shadow Principle was born.

Melding influences as diverse as Peter Murphy, Tool, The Cure, Rush, David Bowie, and Queens of the Stone Age, The Shadow Principle excel at packing complex instrumentation and thoughtful lyrics into tightly drawn, relatively short songs. The familiar verse-chorus-bridge-chorus structure of lead single "Losing Streak," for example, is belied by explosive rhythm section work reminiscent of The Who, no nonsense, crunchy guitars, and understated, almost indifferent vocals. This is not the work of a band desperate for attention. There's no pandering here. People can like this song -- or not. Either way, the band intends to play the hell out of it.

Other songs such as "Camera Action" and "Slow Winter" exemplify the band's occasional 80s retro vibe, while "Wicked Seas," The Rift," "Block Out the Sun," and "Swim Away" pay homage to 70s prog rockers King Crimson and Rush, while simultaneously evoking more contemporary flashes of Radiohead and Tool.

Check the band's website for information on upcoming live shows, and watch the video for "Losing Streak" by visiting www.youtube.com/theshadowprinciple

General Info

Band Members
Dave Tomkins: bass & vocals // Reza Moosavi: guitar // Kurt Berens: drums
Artist Name
The Shadow Principle
Home Page
Active Since
Rock / Alternative / Progressive

Contact Info

Los Angeles, CA

Similar Artists

  • Muse
  • Tool
  • RUSH
  • Interpol
  • Peter Murphy