Raw Power was formed in 1981 in Poviglio (RE), Italy, by brothers Mauro (vocals) and Giuseppe Codeluppi (guitar). Through the years the band has lived through several line-up changes and the two brothers were the only stable members until Giuseppe's death in 2002.
In 1983 they recorded a 19-track demo (sometimes referred as Brown Studio Tape) and two songs appeared in the Italian punk compilation, Raptus. The tape also included the song «Fuck authority», which appeared in Maximumrocknroll's international punk and hardcore compilation, Welcome to 1984. Their debut album, You Are The Victim, was released in 1983 (or 1984, depending on sources) through the same small independent Italian label that released the Raptus compilation (Meccano Records). Raw Power had another two tracks in the second Raptus compilation, Raptus: Negazione e superamento (1984).

While touring in the USA in 1984, the band played in Los Angeles with punk legends Dead Kennedys. It was at that show that they were spotted by Bill Sassenberger, owner of Toxic Shock Records. The band signed a record deal with Bill, which resulted in the album Screams From The Gutter. "screams" sold more than 40,000 copies strictly through independent distribution and shops.

In 1986, Toxic Shock released the EP Wop Hour and the LP After Your Brain.

In the years to come, other records including Mine To Kill (Southern Records, 1989), Live Danger (TVOR Records, 1991) and Too Tough to Burn (Contempo Records, 1992) were released, but none of them sold as respectively as the first two recordings on Toxic Shock.

In 1995 they recorded the Fight album for Godhead Records, trying to achieve a sound more akin to their live shows. A video clip was made to promote the album, which was broadcast by MTV.. Their next album for Godhead was Live from the gutter, recorded live on March 1, 1996 in the Maffia Club from Reggio Emilia (Italy). It contains twenty-seven songs with no overdubs.

In 1998 the band came back to Bill and Toxic Shock, who had changed its name to Toxic Ranch Records, releasing Reptile House. Reviews of the record were all incredible, calling it the best thing the band had done since their debut release. With that, the band decided to return to the U.S. for their first American tour in several years.

In 2000 Raw Power released their next album "Trust Me" on Hello Records.

In 2002, Raw Power went back into the studio to record Still Screaming After 20 Years, a celebration of their two decades as a band. Shortly after finishing it, on October 6, guitarist and founding member Giuseppe Codeluppi suffered a heart attack while playing soccer, and died.

After his death, the remaining members debated on keeping on. In the end, it was decided that Giuseppe would have wanted the band to continue, with or without him.

European tours followed in 2004-2005. In 2005 Roberto the drummer was replaced by Fabio because of health reasons.

In 2007 Tommi replaced the guitarist Luca.

April 13, 2010 Beer City Records released the first 'Raw Power' box set entitled 'The Reagan Years'. This set contains 1 DVD and 2 CD's. All the material featured in this set compiles most of the material recorded by the band during the 80's. Henceforth the title ' The Reagan Years'.Also included is a full DVD sized lyric book with liner notes by Mauro 'singer' and co founder of 'Raw Power'.Beer City also brought back Vince 'Rancid' Packard to do the cover art. Packard had done both the covers for 'Screams From the Gutter' and 'After Your Brain'. The cover features the monster (being torn apart by Ronald Reagan complete with a monkey on his shoulder with Oliver North's face) seen on many 'Raw Power' covers along with the familiar sewer setting and rat. The CD's total 63 tracks and the DVD contains 2 live performances. One from 1986 and one from 1987. Both were filmed on US tours the band had done.

October 2010 P.I.G. records released the band's new album, Resuscitate, 8 years after Still Screaming.... It's been recorded in Seattle's Studio Litho (owned by Pearl Jam's Stone Gossard) during the 2009 US tour. It features 24 new songs plus two stooges covers ("I wanna be your dog" and "Raw power") and a remake of the band's 1988 classic "mine to kill" as ghost track

General Info

Band Members
Mauro Codeluppi "MP" - vocals / Giuseppe Codeluppi - guitar / Tommi Prodi - guitar / Marco Massarenti - bass / Fabio Ferrari - drums
Artist Name
Profile Page
Active Since
Alternative / Hardcore

Contact Info

reggio emilia, RE, IT