Let Fall the Sparrow / Bio

The San Francisco based trio, Let Fall the Sparrow, is made up of Lilly Pritchard (bass/vocals), Daniel Lemke (guitar) and Jesse Freidin (drums). Their sound is both ethereal and driving, moving between quiet melodic moments and intense sonic builds.

All three members are originally from the East Coast but met in San Francisco. Daniel and Lilly met while playing jazz. They spontaneously started writing original rock-influenced compositions after jazz practice sessions.

Daniel and Lilly found that they had many rock influences in common--including Sonic Youth, Mazzy Star and post-rock bands such as Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Sigur Ros--as well as some differing, but complimentary influences, such as The Cure, The Smiths and PJ Harvey, in Lilly's case, and black metal in Daniel's case.

After working on songwriting together, Daniel and Lilly decided to bring in a drummer. They auditioned Jesse and found his ability to comfortably switch between driving a straight beat and playing with restraint and nuance to be exactly what they were looking for. Jesse's sensitive and musical approach to his instrument was a perfect fit, and is now a crucial element of their current sound.

Let Fall the Sparrow recorded and mixed their first EP at Oakland’s 25th Street Studios in July and August of 2011. It was mastered at Paul Stubblebine Mastering in San Francisco in October 2011 and was released in November 2011.

General Info

Band Members
Lilly Pritchard- vocals & bass, Daniel Lemke- guitar, Jesse Freidin- drums
Artist Name
Let Fall the Sparrow
Profile Page
Indie / Experimental

Contact Info

San Francisco, CA

Similar Artists

  • Sonic Youth
  • God speed you black emperor
  • The Cure
  • Sigur Rós
  • Mazzy Star / Hope Sandoval