Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

Absolute Zero / Bio

"ABSOLUTE ZERO: The Group" [AZTG] attests to the vibrancy of the popular song (in capable hands) as an enduring artistic expression. This eclectic band is all about words and music, crafted by guitarist-composer Johnny Alegre for an emergent Indie OPM (Original Philippine Music) genre.

Johnny Alegre (guitar), Rodney Vidanes (bass), and Paolo Manuel (drums) comprise the ABSOLUTE ZERO rhythm section, featuring Mia Tengco (vocals).

The working band traces its origins to 2008 from the Johnny Alegre Trio with bassist Dondi Ledesma (from the Wally Gonzales Group) and drummer Paolo Manuel (from Salindiwa) that played "free rock", mostly at Cafe SaGuijo (produced by Sneakernet) and the defunct Cafe Ponticello (produced by MusicLokal). Alegre's pioneering work (in the jazz music idiom) for Candid Records (as "Johnny Alegre AFFINITY") provided the fledgling trio a much-needed leverage to perform before a diversified jazz-rock audience.

Dondi Ledesma's terminal illness in February 2009 brought the group to a halt. A climate action advocacy concert sponsored by Oxfam and Dakila Philippines in late 2009 provided the impetus for reconstituted Johnny Alegre Group featuring singer-guitarist Kris Gorra-Dancel (from the groups Cambio and Duster), with bassist Gareth Somers (from the group, Novus Luna).

In February of 2010, singer Mia Tengco (from the pop group, Wake Up Your Seatmate) took her place as the regular fourth member. Version-2 of the Johnny Alegre Group was premiered at the 2010 Philippine International Jazz Festival (PIJF). In the short weeks that followed, with considerable performances lined up, the name ABSOLUTE ZERO: THE GROUP [or simply, "Absolute Zero"] surfaced.

Some major milestones for “AZ” followed that included engagements at the Oxford Suites “O-Lounge”, the Manila Peninsula "Salon De Ning", the Manila Mandarin "Martinis Bar", the Manila Hotel "Tap Room", as well as concert appearances at the Philippine World Trade Center (2010 "Music Beyond Borders"), and the "Jam For Japan" benefit at the Ayala Museum for Japan's tsunami casualties. Since 2010, the annual Philippine International Jazz Festival has invited Absolute Zero to perform.

The departure of Gareth Somers in early 2012 brought on a series of session bassists {that included Aram Puzon (from Ozawa), Nick Lazaro (from Twin Lobster) and Yuna Reguerra (from Mike's Apartment)} until the entry of Rodney Vidanes (from Fuseboxx). A prolonged absence by Paolo Manuel (due to contractual obligations with a Rico Blanco tour) also brought a month's tenure by Raimund Marasigan (from groups such as the Eraserheads, Sandwich and Gaijin) on drums for gigs at the B-Side Collective and Bistro 70s. Some of AZ's high profile appearances in 2012 include the Scott Henderson front act show at the Manila Hotel and the Fete de la Musique Jazz Stage in St. Giles Hotel. The foursome have performed extensively in the cities of Greater Manila, Baguio and Bacolod.

General Info

Band Members
Johnny Alegre (guitar), Rodney Vidanes (bass), Paolo Manuel (drums), Mia Tengco (vocals)
Artist Name
Absolute Zero
Home Page
Active Since

Contact Info

Greater Manila Area (GMA) , PH
International artist representation: PH Affinity Productions +63 917 804 1879 ♦