Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

Marcus Cohen and The Congress / Bio

Approval ratings for the U.S. Congress have reached historic lows, so maybe the politicians should heed the example of trumpeter Marcus Cohen, whose populist groove-driven ensemble The Congress can supply a soul manifesto for any party. Launched in 2009, the group features more than a dozen musicians and a sound steeped in funk and soul, hip-hop, jazz and gospel. With vocalist Valerie Troutt and emcee MicBlake, re-election is a lock.

Andrew Gilbert- SF Chronicle

Marcus Cohen & The Congress have been described as a "A velvet freight train of passion". The music is powerful, hyper-sensual, seductive, yet sonically arresting. Its dripped in "soul", encased with sweet caramel melodies, and tantalizing harmonies. The grooves are deep and rich like dark cacao. Marcus Cohen--trumpeter/composer based in San Francisco Ca. assembled The Congress nearly 2 years ago. Destined to reintroduce the depth in music, love, community, as well as expounding on the the re-emergence of "soul music", Marcus Cohen &The Congress have been winning the hearts and ears of every listener. Active Members include:

Marcus McCauley - piano
John Omayga Adams - drums
Raul Perales - bass
Khalil Doak-Anthony - guitar
Valerie Troutt - vox
Daniel Riera - flute/ewi
Tony Peebles - tenor sax
Rafa Postel - trumpet
MicBlake - emcee

"We pay homage to the music of the past, and we are dedicated to our role as contributors to the music of the future. Join us, or better yet, congregate with us. We are The Congress. "

General Info

Band Members
Valerie Troutt, MicBlake, Khalil Doak-Anthony, Marcus McCauley, Raul Perales, John "Omayga" Adams III, Daniel Riera, Tony Peebles, Rafa Postel, and Marcus Cohen
Artist Name
Marcus Cohen and The Congress
Profile Page
Active Since
R&B/Soul / Hip Hop / Jazz

Contact Info

San Francisco, CA

Similar Artists

  • Roy Hargrove
  • Robert Glasper
  • Me'Shell Ndegéocello
  • Stevie Wonder
  • Curtis Lee Mayfield