Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

We Are The Union / Bio

Unhappy with the current state of ska music, We Are The Union decided to stick out their own necks and tried to change things for the better in the summer of 2005. Getting a paycheck is not on their agenda. Instead of following typical ska punk conventions, WATU takes a harder-nosed approach to the genre. With influences ranging from Lifetime to Slapstick, they rage with the best of them while still retaining a heightened sense of melody. Their love for fast music, horns and their incredibly short attention spans are a simple explanation for why WATU sound the way they do. Over the three years, they have also been incredibly hardworking. With nearly a dozen tours in the US and UK under their belt in this short span of time, they’ve now thrown caution to the wind and continue to be on the road full time. This will surely add to the list of heavy hitters they’ve shared the stage with that includes The Suicide Machines, Strung Out, Shook Ones, Less Than Jake, Zebrahead, Rufio, Mustard Plug, Set Your Goals, The Flatliners, Voodoo Glow Skulls, Spring Heeled Jack, Bomb! The Music Industry, The Aquabats, Four Year Strong, and more. Their work ethic cannot just be applied to their tours either. Their first full-length ‘Who We Are’, self-released in the summer of 2007, was given away for free by the band via the Internet. Their generosity was met with a rapidly surging fan base and an offer to have the record released in Japan via InYaFace Records. Their expectations for the band are simple. They want to keep making music they love while touring relentlessly in order to provide people with a positive environment for fun and the venting of frustration. Paper + Plastick saw the youthful exuberance and the amount of integrity this young bunch of punks had and quickly wanted to become involved. 2010 brings the release of ‘Great Leaps Forwards’, the new full length from WATU. For the start of 2011, WATU is geared to hit the road headlining the “Ska Is Dead Young Guns” Tour.

General Info

Band Members
Reed Wolcott, Brandon Benson, Jim Margle, Ricky Weber, Mike Babcock
Artist Name
We Are The Union
Home Page
Active Since
Reggae / Pop Punk / Punk

Contact Info

Metro Detroit, MI