Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

Copal / Bio

Copal: NYC-based Evocative Orchestral Experience

“Beguiling” (First Coast News) and “artistically beautiful yet darkly tantalizing” (Maximum Ink), Copal sets an evocative tone; lavish voices of violin and cello flicker against a twilight scape of electronic swells and textures, impelled by a driving rhythmic sense, and original melodies steeped in global musical traditions. NYC-based, Copal is lead by violinist/composer Hannah Thiem, with collaborators Isabel Castellvi (cello), Rob Chamberlain (drums), and Lorenzo Wolff (bass). The band’s sound is a steampunk melding of styles set on a world stage. Nordic melodies ride Middle-Eastern rhythms into the halls of a remembered past, Hungarian riffs blush hotly against Spanish-cadence, opulent harmonies from far-gone depths. Copal’s 2010 aptly named ‘Into the Shadow Garden’, is a moody arabesque of cultural influences and sonic tapestries. The music here is darkly intimate, compelling on multiple levels. Like lucid dreams, the sounds of Copal will take you away. http://copalmusic.com

General Info

Band Members
Hannah Thiem, Isabel Castellvi, Rob Chamberlain, Lorenzo Wolff
Artist Name
Profile Page
Alternative / World / Indie Rock

Contact Info

Brooklyn, NY
Hannah Thiem