Glow in the Sun is an American rock quartet formed in San Antonio, Texas in late 2009. With roots in classic and psychedelic rock, fresh funk and jazz, and the good old boxcar blues, they are sure to please a variety of music listener, from the indie youth to those in their golden years. The group consists of San Antonio natives Michael Tellez (guitar/bass) and Gilbert Segura (bass/keyboards), Nathan Shimek (vocals/guitar) of Victoria, TX and Matthew Botting (drums) of Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Michael and Nathan met in San Antonio and it was music that brought them together. Gilbert, brother-in-law of the singer, was brought in when their former bass player left in 2011. Matt joined after the band’s move to Austin in early 2012. Their music reaches for the heart of the rock days of old “and plumbs the soulful, poppy, and gritty sides of the 1970s’ musical golden age, with some added millennial attitude” (Adam Coronado, San Antonio Current).
The band’s first album titled “Eagle’s Nest,” named after the street where the band lived and rehearsed, was recorded in a backyard studio south of San Antonio by Bobby Mercier of Looney Bin Studios. The second album received the name “El Tejano” for the same reason as the first and was recorded by The Strokes producer Gordon Raphael and sound engineer Spencer Ramzel in San Antonio. This record was recorded live in the studio in opposition to the tracking done on the previous album as the band wanted to achieve a warmer, more human feel. Glow in the Sun is currently focused on funding and writing its third studio album, the first with this cast of members, to be recorded in the summer of 2013. Titled “Crack Rock Funk Railroad,” this auditory illustration dives into the soul of the band and exudes a funkadelic spirit ride that can’t be denied. The music will show that this is a band that is completely devoted to their ever present goal of creating music and an energy that speaks to the heart and life of the listener.

General Info

Band Members
Michael Tellez - Guitar, Bass, Vocals; Nathan Shimek - Vocals, Guitar; Gilbert Segura III - Bass, Keyboards; Matt Botting - Drums
Artist Name
Profile Page
Active Since
Rock / Modern Rock / vintage rock

Contact Info

Austin, TX

Similar Artists

  • Led Zeppelin Official
  • The Doors
  • The Black Crowes
  • Beck
  • Kings Of Leon