The band was originally formed in the fall of 2006 under the name Texas Metal Alliance. In April 2009 the band officially changed their name to WARBEAST. The band is signed to Philip Anselmo's label Housecore Records.

With the “retro-thrash” trend in full-swing, and hordes of bands trying to re-create “old school metal”, Texas monsters WARBEAST offer the real thing. Their music is not the result of careful study of 80’s thrash or classic metal; it just comes naturally because that is who they are.

On their second full-length album for Housecore Records, Destroy, Warbeast unleashes an uncompromising and unbridled thrash assault. Living up to its moniker, the collection sees the Texas outfit sharpen their claws and bare their teeth even more than before. Now, the band—Bruce Corbitt [vocals], Scott Shelby [lead guitar], Joe Gonzalez [drums], Bobby Tillotson Jr. [lead guitar], and Dré Karst [bass]—stands primed to engage full-on musical destruction. You have been warned…

In the spring of 2012, Warbeast hunkered down to record Destroy with legendary Pantera and Down frontman and label founder Philip H. Anselmo behind the board. While locked in Anselmo's studio, Nodferatu's Lair, they set their sights on upping the ante across the board from their 2010 Housecore Records debut, Krush The Enemy.

"This album is simply meaner and heavier than our first," affirms Corbitt. "We've managed to keep the variety we had, but we allowed ourselves more freedom to go beyond the traditional songwriting patterns. It's less predictable. We've evolved as a band, and Destroy proves it."

In addition to pulverizing riffs, pummeling double bass, and powerful leads, the singer focused on lyrically tackling different topics and delivering them via razor sharp hooks.

"I just wanted to write about a wide range of subjects and emotions. Topics include everything from werewolves and humans warring with aliens to national disasters and a robotic monster called Warbeast. There's also a track called 'Egotistical Bastards,' which could be about many people I know," he laughs.

The record also sees the group's lineup solidified with the addition of Karst on bass replacing original bassist Alan Bovee and Shelby assuming the bulk of the six-string writing after the exit of previous guitarist Rick Perry two years prior.

"There were no restraints," Shelby admits. "Everybody stepped it up, and we're all on the same page. We're more focused now, and the connection we have is incredible."

The live show proves equally impressive. They've already massacred crowds alongside the likes of Down, Crowbar, Eyehategod, Gwar, Every Time I Die, Cavalera Conspiracy, Destruction, Goatwhore, OTEP, and countless others. With numerous tours on the horizon, they'll undoubtedly be slaying cities everywhere. About the live show, Shelby smiles, "We always like to attack the audience with our songs and move them. That's our approach as soon as we hit the stage."

Building up to the release of Destroy, two Warbeast tracks "It" and "Birth of a Psycho" share a split with Anselmo's solo material entitled, War of the Gargantuas. It's only a prelude of what's to come though.

The group remains entrenched in thrash's legacy, while furthering its future. Formed in 2006 and counting Rigor Mortis, Gammacide, and Demonseed among their sonic genealogy, the members have been respectively doling out crushing music for over two decades. That's precisely why Warbeast sound so alive on Destroy.

At the end of the day, it's about unmitigated destruction for these five individuals. "I want people to feel like they've been hit with a sledgehammer ten times in a row when they hear this," concludes Corbitt. "As long as they feel strongly about, we've accomplished our mission." — Rick Florino, July 2012

General Info

Band Members
Bruce Corbitt - Vocals, Scott Shelby - Guitar, Joey Gonzalez - Drums, Drew Shoup - Guitar, Lyric Ferchaud - Bass
Artist Name
Profile Page
Active Since
Metal / Thrash / Thrash Metal

Contact Info

Arlington, TX

Similar Artists

  • Rigor Mortis (Official)
  • Gammacide
  • Slayer band
  • Destruction
  • Exodus