Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

JD McPherson / Bio

With a strong singing voice that moves from smooth and sweet, to raw and rockin' on a dime, JD McPherson channels Little Richard, James Brown, Charlie Feathers, to name a few. Hi-Style Records is excited to present the debut release by JD McPherson, Signs & Signifiers! Hi-Style brought JD McPherson up from Oklahoma to the big city of Chicago to record this stellar 12 song, full length album. Produced by Jimmy Sutton (Mighty Blue Kings, Four Charms, Del Moroccos) and engineered by Alex Hall (The Modern Sounds, Del Moroccos), the album also features Sutton on bass and guitar, and Hall on drums and piano. Recorded to an old 1960's Berlant 1/4 inch tape machine, this stellar performance, and brilliant song writing by McPherson, all come together under Jimmy Sutton's impeccable production. This is authentic electrifying rock n' roll/ rhythm & blues with post-structural lyrics and arrangements.

The album also features guest musicians: Scott Ligon, (NRBQ's Terry Adams Rock & Roll Quartet), plays incredibly tasteful piano. Austin's Jonathan Doyle (Nick Curran and the Lowlifes, White Ghost Shivers) and Chicago's Josh Bell (The Del Moroccos) blow killer tenor and baritone saxophones. Susan Voelz (Alejandro Escovedo, Poi Dog Pondering), on violin, and Allison Chesley (Helen Money), on cello, contribute a beautiful string arrangement to the soulful "A Gentle Awakening". Rounding out the album's guests, guitar ace Joel Paterson, (The Modern Sounds) lends some choice guitar work to the Joey Simone classic "Your Love (All That I'm Missing)".

General Info

Band Members
JD McPherson - Vocals/Lead Guitar, Jimmy Sutton - Upright Bass, Alex Hall - Drums
Artist Name
JD McPherson
Profile Page
Active Since
Alternative / Rock N' Roll, Soul, Rhythm & Blues

Contact Info

Broken Arrow, OK
Jimmy Sutton