Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

The Compulsions / Bio

The Compulsions are Rob Carlyle on lead vocal and rhythm guitar with lead guitarist Richard Fortus and drummer Frank "Thunderchucker" Ferrer, both from the recharged Guns N' Roses, as well as bassist Sami Yaffa from seminal bands Hanoi Rocks and the revamped New York Dolls. Heralded by Classic Rock magazine as "The Coolest Band In The World," the independent, New York City-based group has been steadily riding a wave of increasing success and visibility.

The Compulsions' early EPs received tremendous support from college radio, often out-charting artists like Beck, Metallica and Oasis. Additionally, airplay on Nights With Alice Cooper and exposure from WRXP FM's Matt Pinfield (formerly MTV) and Q104.3 FM's Jonathan Clarke in New York, has also gone far in championing the band's music. Additonally at TBFM, the UK's #1 independent rock radio station, several DJs regularly spin Compulsions tracks, including a 30-second theme song penned by Carlyle which also receives regular requests from listeners.

Compulsions recordings have also been heard in clubs and venues around the world, including the notorious Viper Room in Los Angeles, the Cathouse in Milan and the legendary 100 Club in London. Not to mention the band's wildly successful live shows have been rallying their already rabid fanbase to a fever pitch, for example, fans have traveled from as far as Sweden to New York to see the group perform.

The Compulsions released their first full-length studio album, Beat The Devil, in November, 2011. The disc features 10 blues, punk and hard rock influenced originals plus a very special guest appearance by the recently departed Hubert Sumlin, sideman for blues icons Howlin’ Wolf and Muddy Waters as well as one of Rolling Stone's 100 Greatest Guitarists Of All Time. Like previous Compulsions output, Beat The Devil has been garnering rave reviews from the music press, including one enthusiastic writer who recently declared that past comparisons to AC/DC, New York Dolls and The Rolling Stones do Carlyle & Co. "an injustice."

A new Compulsions studio album, Dirty Fun, went into production in May, 2013 and was completed in August, 2014. The album will be released via Compulsions Records and available everywhere on April 14, 2015. Fans who pre-order Dirty Fun from iTunes starting March 24 will receive "Hellbound Babies" and "Lucky" as instant gratification tracks.

All Compulsions recordings are 100% independently financed. Thank you for your continued support!

General Info

Band Members
Rob Carlyle (v,g), Richard Fortus (g), Sami Yaffa (b), Frank Ferrer (d)
Artist Name
The Compulsions
Home Page
Active Since
Blues / Punk / Rock

Contact Info

New York, NY

Similar Artists

  • The Rolling Stones
  • AC/DC
  • New York Dolls
  • Guns N' Roses
  • Aerosmith