Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.


Founded in Helsinki in 1990, Amorphis has been counted among Europe's leading metal bands for two decades already. The band's international break-through came with its second album, "Tales from the Thousand Lakes", released in 1994 and followed by extensive touring of Europe and North America. In the aftermath of the immensely popular "Tales", Amorphis decided to opt for a new musical approach and added a new lead singer to their line-up. Pasi Koskinen's clean vocals complemented the death metal growls provided by rhythm guitarist Tomi Koivusaari, which had been a trademark of the first two albums. The growls were still present on the third full-length release, "Elegy" (1996), which offered a bold combination of death metal and folk elements with a distinctive oriental touch. "Tuonela" (1999) was liberally sprinkled with 1970s-style psychedelic touches and marked another leap ahead for Amorphis, while "Am Universum" (2001) took a step back from metal to delve further into progressive soundscapes. "Far from the Sun" (2003), the band's last album with Koskinen, in turn proved a rockier and more band-oriented effort than its predecessor, yet oriental elements and Pink Floyd influences were still abundant.

When new vocalist Tomi Joutsen joined the band in 2005, the definitive Amorphis line-up was finally complete. The sixth album "Eclipse" (2006) marked the beginning of a new era, presenting Amorphis in a tighter and more multifaceted shape than ever. The newfound course was continued with "Silent Waters" (2007) and "Skyforger" (2009). To document the band's impressive onstage skills, a lush live DVD package was released in 2010, to be followed by "Magic & Mayhem", a collection of re-recorded classic tracks to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Finnish pioneers. The tenth studio album "The Begining Of Times" (2011) not only scored Amorphis another #1 spot on the Finnish charts but also their first Top 20 hit in Germany.

With a truly unique blend of modern metal, rock, folk music, melancholy sounds and sublime melodies, Amorphis have managed to create a sound entirely their own, inimitable and timeless.

General Info

Band Members
Tomi Joutsen - Vocals, Esa Holopainen - Guitar, Tomi Koivusaari - Guitar, Santeri Kallio - Keyboards, Niclas Etelävuori - Bass, Jan Rechberger - Drums
Artist Name
Home Page
Active Since
Metal / Death Metal / Progressive Metal

Contact Info

Helsinki, FI
King Foo Entertainment