Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

Exhumed / Bio

Exhumed was formed in 1991 by Matt Harvey and Col Jones. Throughout the ensuing years, the band morphed line-ups while continuing to hone their own brand of grinding Death Metal, influenced initially by Napalm Death, Repulsion, Carcass, Carnage, Terrorizer, Impetigo, Death, Autopsy, Master, Pestilence, and other late ‘80s / early ‘90s underground favorites. By 1994, Exhumed had begun incorporating influences from Thrash and Crossover into their songs and the “Gore Metal” sound began to take shape. In 1996 the band's portion of the “In The Name Of Gore” split disc with Hemdale was recorded, which led to a European tour and a deal with Relapse the following year.

After recruiting guitarist / vocalist Mike Beams in early 1998 the band released the genre (re)defining “Gore Metal” album and divided Metal fans and press into love / hate camps. The departure of longtime bassist vocalist Ross Sewage after the album’s release opened the slot to Bud Burke, cementing the “classic” Exhumed line-up. The following year the band embarked on their first US tour. 2000’s “Slaughtercult” follow-up upped the ante in sheer aggression and production values, and led to further touring, this time including Europe, Japan, Canada, and Mexico in addition to multiple trips across the US. “Anatomy Is Destiny”, the band’s third album, showcased further musical development of Exhumed’s blood soaked paradigm, both instrumentally and production-wise. After founding member Col Jones and Bud Burke left the band, Exhumed embarked on a rigorous touring schedule that included multiple US and European treks in addition to Canada, Japan, Australia and Iceland. A revamped line-up came together in 2005 to record and album’s worth of cover material titled “Garbage Daze Re-Regurgitated” but disbanded after a US tour that year. A DVD that was in production at the time was also stalled. Since then, the band has been on an indefinite hiatus, with the members pursuing other projects.

General Info

Band Members
Matt Connell- Drums, Leon del Muerte- Bass & Vocals, Wes Caley- Guitar, Matt Harvey- Guitar & Vocals
Artist Name
Profile Page
Metal / Death Metal / Goregrind

Contact Info

San Jose, CA