Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

Noisecult / Bio

Formed in 2004, Noisecult rose from the ashes of several years of musical wreckage and determination. Pieced together by the Original nucleus of Don Carr (Guitar & vocals) and Bo Heyward (Lead vocals), Noisecult is the product of a 10-year-old musical collaboration. Beginning in 1993, Carr and Heyward began forming various bands throughout the years combining their love of 1970s and underground metal, aggressive punk and the classic dark wall of sound pioneered by Black Sabbath.
Spring 2004, after a few year hiatus the two set out to finally bring together the band they had always strived to build. Planets aligned and there seemed no better time to form Noisecult. In late 2005, following the release of group’s first length CD, End of Days, the band played all the shows they could to get the material out there.
Through 2005 to 2009 Noisecult, Joined by bassist Sean Kay and drummers Matt McElroy and Ben Bomlitz, powered out a series of well-crafted self-produced albums. Noisecult is virtually an amalgam of metal, rock and punk. An original blend of styles that has the band reaching beyond the normal rock audience. This approach has created an open writing environment for all the band members to create Noisecult songs in a non-ridged no boundaries attitude.
After signing up with Stik Man Records in late 2007 Noisecult’s "Volume 3: Vociferous" expanded the group outside of the middle Tennessee area by radio airplay on 102.9 The Buzz as well as numerous college and internet stations across the country. The sales, requests and positive live show feedback surrounding the release of “Vociferous” stands as a testament that Noisecult is heading in the right direction. "I think anyone who likes good old style stoner rock, metal, punk, whatever, with good grooves, great lyrics, intense riffing and a raw in your face vocals will be able to get into what we've done on these CDs" states Don Carr.
With the success of “Vociferous” The band played as many shows as they could and planned their next musical assault. Building upon the strength of their own songwriting and a solid foundation of a hard hitting live act that could share the stage with a variety of styles and bands, Noisecult took to the studio to hammer out another slab of twisted punk metal. 2009’s “My War My Enemy” fast became a classic project that would see the band deliver a solid well received musical offering.
“Playing our songs live and feeding off the energy you get from a crowd is what this is all about” says bassist Sean Kay. The past couple of years saw Noisecult get some great exposure playing with some of punk and metal’s most revered underground heroes like: Iron Maiden’s former vocalist Paul Di’Anno, Corrosion of Conformity, Death Angel, Overkill, Weedeater, seminal punk icon’s FEAR, Skeletonwitch, Doro Pesch, Anthrax frontman Joey Belladonna, Icarus Witch, crossover hardcore legends D.R.I, Zoroaster, Christine, Agent Orange, Warbringer, The Glasspack, and doom metal stalwarts Trouble. Sean adds “our goal is to take our music as far as we can push it and get it out there to as many people we can by playing live”.
2011 found Noisecult beginning the next chapter of their existence. With the addition to Vocalist Mike Liffick the band promises to take to the road even harder and to continue to mine the rock underground to develop their sound. The new lineup recorded an original heavy rock Christmas anthem entitled “All Around The World in Just One Night”, which will first be featured on the limited edition compilation album “Rock The Manger”. In addition a Christmas B-side to “All Around the World…” is in the works for a 2013 Noisecult Christmas single release.
To celebrate the new lineup the band hit the studio to cut a single. The new song “Marching Unto Death” was the featured song for the band and Noisecult was the Band of the Month for May 2011 on 102.9 The Buzz local artist webpage and radio show.
September 2012 sees the release of the next powerhouse sonic assault in Noisecult’s musical arsenal. The new album titled "Psychedelic Death Trip" will feature 10 brand new songs.
The band is really happy to get this cd under way with Liffick stating "this is our most consistent and well crafted effort yet, I can’t wait to get this batch of noise out for people to hear". The lineup of bassist Sean Kay, guitarist Don Carr, vocalist Mike Liffick along with long time engineer and studio drummer Matt McElroy and band friend and drummer Don Berger have hammered out Noisecult’s heaviest stoner rock grooves yet.
Songs such as “Sins of Yesterday” , "Psychedelic Death Trip", “Burn the Night” and the monsterously heavy “El Diablo’s Trestiza” are sure to sit well among the groups best sludge filled material. “Rock n’ Roll Rock Kill” is a fiery riff laden track warning of the perils of the rock and roll lifestyle & excess which then musically bleeds into a haunting transition to side two of the trip…”Marching Unto Death” and “The One True God” complete with its Deep Purple influenced Hammond Organ open, bring a melodic 1980’s British metal vibe to album….and not ones to forget their love of punk, the disc rounds out with a couple of quick kicks to the ear in the likes of ‘Lost in My Head” and “Your Misery”.
The band is currently working on their next full length album entitled "Burial Hymns". The Stik Man Records disc is set to be released mid 2014 and will feature several old Noisecult favorites re-recorded as well as five newly written songs for the project in order to celebrate Noisecult's ten year anniversary.
"Psychedelic Death Trip” is available to purchase along with all other Noisecult releases, through www.noisecult.com as well as the band's www.amazon.com and CDBABY.com pages. Search Noisecult on iTunes and Amazon.com mp3s and you will be able to grab the songs as individual downloads. The entire Noisecult catalog are available to stream at all digital music outlets.

General Info

Band Members
Mike Liffick - Vocals Sean Kay - Bass Will Logan - Drums Don Carr - Guitar & Vocals
Artist Name
Home Page
Active Since
Rock / Heavy Metal / Punk

Contact Info

Nashville, TN
Don Carr

Similar Artists

  • Black Sabbath
  • Corrosion of Conformity
  • Motörhead
  • Orange Goblin
  • The Sword