Hypnogaja / Bio

Hypnogaja has recorded and produced several critically acclaimed albums, toured the U.S. and Canada and garnered attention from fans around the world (including a Twitter following of more than 1 million people and over 3 million cumulative views on YouTube). The band was recently honored with an invite from legendary Tears for Fears frontman Curt Smith to be the featured artist on the debut episode of the new web series Stripped Down Live with Curt Smith.

Comprised of vocalist Jason “ShyBoy” Arnold, keyboardist Mark Nubar Donikian, drummer Adrian Barnardo, bassist Bryan Farrar and guitarist Abe Parker, Hypnogaja is the winner of the 2009 Hollywood Music in Media Award for Best Alternative Artist (for the song “Welcome To The Future”) and the 2010 Hollywood Music in Media Award for Best Male Vocal (for ShyBoy’s performance of the Donna Summer classic “On The Radio”).

Numerous television shows, motion pictures, video games, apps and soundtracks have featured Hypnogaja's music, including the Scream 4 movie trailer (Dimension Films/The Weinstein Co.), America’s Next Top Model (CW), Carrie (NBC), Cold Creek Manor (Touchstone), Dirt (F/X), FlatOut: Ultimate Carnage (Warner Bros. Interactive), Las Vegas (NBC), One Life To Live (ABC), Roswell (WB), Sex And The City (HBO), The Looking Glass Wars (Scholastic), Tru Calling (FOX), Valentine (Warner Bros.), Tap Tap Revenge 3 (Tapulous) and many others.

Described by Outburn magazine as "enthralling, first-rate modern rock," Apple.com as "soulful rock with a subtle electronic backdrop" and the Denver Post as music that "pushes boundaries," Hypnogaja writes and performs "melodic, sophisticated songs that cater to no trend” according to GRAMMY®-nominated songwriter Wendy Waldman (Garth Brooks, Vanessa Williams), producer of the band’s Acoustic Sunset – Live at the Longhouse.

Hypnogaja’s latest album, the critically-acclaimed concept LP Truth Decay, was hailed by Outburn as an "expertly crafted album." Produced by the GRAMMY®-nominated Jean-Yves “Jeeve” Ducornet (Santana, 2Pac), Nubar and ShyBoy, all thirteen songs from the project revolve around the central story of two lovers – a scientist and a spaceman – who find themselves at the center of a dramatic apocalypse. From the opening chords of the ominous rocker “Dark Star” to the retro-shuffle of the celebrity-obsessed “Worship Me (I’m On TV)” and the warm piano-driven motif of the eternally hopeful “Welcome To The Future,” Truth Decay manages to deliver an engaging science-fiction-romance-fantasy story arc without losing its vantage point on universal themes that unite us all.

Truth Decay is available on iTunes®, Amazon.com, CDBaby and through online retailers worldwide.

General Info

Band Members
Jason "ShyBoy" Arnold - Vocals; Mark Nubar Donikian - Keyboards; Adrian Barnardo - Drums; Bryan Farrar - Bass; Abe Parker - Guitar
Artist Name
Profile Page
Alternative / Space Rock

Contact Info

Los Angeles, CA
Mark Nubar