Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})

Ruff Justice / Bio

Justice in the Twenty First Century…. Is the only way to describe the NEW album and the newest chapter in the continuing legend of one of Dallas’ most powerful bands.

RUFF JUSTICE “ PROPAGANDA “ the coming release by Retrospect Records, Las Vegas in the spring of 2015. On the heels of the propaganda filled U.S. midterm elections of 2014, is a loud and proud statement about the historic value of the genre of music that has out lived and risen above short-lived trends. The New Ruff Justice of the 21st century continues to raise the bar higher and higher as they have throughout the band's 20+ year history. With the first two releases from Propaganda, starting with the deep digging single “THE DARKNESS WITHIN” and the spiritual anthem “HOLD THE FIRE” every track of “PROPAGANDA” promises to dominate the auditory senses. Combined with the bands explosive live performance the songs and message within this release come to life and with performances at Rocklahoma 2012, 2013 and 2014 Ruff Justice has proven they can hold and entertain even festival crowds. Founding member and drummer Scott Baughn has assembled a band of stellar musicians from in and around the Dallas, TX area and says “we are ready to kick start the bands return in the twenty first century, that Ruff Justice is an attitude and is contagious, once it starts things just keep happening.” The band has emerged stronger than ever with the addition of vocalist Pino Garcia and guitarist J Z Dunegan. Propaganda as a whole, has elements of the first two full albums, but still embraces the classic sound of the band without chasing the past.

Newly reformed Ruff Justice, Signed to Retrospect Records, Las Vegas, NV. In 2010 and re-issued the CD " No Justice No Peace " later that year. Then followed by the re issue of " Wings of Desire " in early 2012.

Originally formed in 1992 in Dallas, TX. by drummer Scott Baughn & Guitarist Mark Kinder. Ruff Justice recorded: Just Us (1992) Wings of Desire (1993) and No Justice No Peace (1995) and toured the midwest USA before splitting up in mid 1996.

The year 2008 found drummer Scott B Coming out of a medically required hiatus, returning to play with the bands Creeper, Z-Rock (The Band) and Hot Damn, before reforming the 1st new line up of Ruff Justice in 2010 with bassist Robbie Howell, Guitarist Chad Coggin and Vocalist Guitarist Rich Colman.
After many months song writing and rehearsing via the internet, along with many flights to Florida & Georgia, it was decided to put these songs and that line up on hold and focus on locating players that were comparable to that current group. After committing to perform at Rocklahoma 2012 drummer Scott started looking for local players to fill the needed slots. Contacting a few old friends and collages Scott got a hold of singer Kelly McGill whom he had worked with in the very early 1990’s who brought in current bassist Rob Tate & guitarist Rodney Blair to start rehearsals only 8 weeks before ROK 2012. After a killer freshman show at ROK 2012.the band then focused on writing and looking for a new vocalist as singer Kelly needed to leave to focus on his main band, After searching for a few months vocalist Sammy Whitmill a friend of drummer Scott B and a twice nominated Metal Male Vocalist of the year in the Music City Mayhem Awards in Nashville, TN joined the ranks. Between numinous trips from TN to TX Sammy filled vocal spot with only a few days left before Rocklahoma and the band once again turned in a killer set at ROK 2013 and 2014
As of late 2014 the band are now back in pre production sessions for Propaganda. Keep a look out for the new CD titled " Propaganda " expected to be released in mid 2015 on the heels of the 2014 Propaganda filled US midterm elections and the ongoing scandals that have ensued. Now, incorporating vocalist Pino Garcia & guitarist JZ Dunegan, Ruff Justice are back on track and making the kinda of melodic 80's/90's style metal that made the band what they are today. Along with summer Rock/Metal Festival shows in the summer of 2014 and an updated and expanded 2015 festival schedule, as well as more regional and local shows coming, Ruff Justice once is again ready to Rock The nation and beyond..

General Info

Band Members
Scott Baughn - Drums/Founding Member, Rob Tate - Bass/Backing vocals, Pino Garcia - Vocals, J Z Dunegan - Guitar/Backing vocals, Bobby Michaelides - Guitar
Artist Name
Ruff Justice
Profile Page
Active Since
Rock / Melodic Metal / Hard Rock

Contact Info

Dallas, TX
ART Entertainment, Dallas, TX.

Similar Artists

  • Queensryche
  • Iron Maiden
  • Judas Priest
  • Ronnie James Dio
  • Whitesnake/David Coverdale