Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})


In 1977 Def Leppard formed in Sheffield, Yorkshire by Pete Willis and Rick Savage and Tony Kenning, with the original name Atomic Mass. They acquired their current name when Joe Elliott joined. The group had rented a Small abandoned spoon factory for rehearsals. In 1978 they picked up a guitarist named Steve Clark. Their first gig was played at Westfield school July 18th. They were paid  out of a teachers pocket. In November drummer Tony Kenning was fired and replaced by Frank Noon and recorded their first EP. On November 28th that same year Rick Allen is hired for a permanent drummer. In 1979 Def Leppard gets their first airplay. And soon after they are signed by Phonogram and Mercury. On March 14th 1980, their debut album On Through The Night was released. In July 1981 they released their second album High 'N' Dry. In 1982 Pete Willis leaves the band and is soon replaced by Phil Collen (formerly of Girl) In January 1983, their third album Pyromania is released.

General Info

Artist Name
Profile Page
Rock / Pop Rock

Contact Info

Sheffield, UK