Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}} ({{reverbUser.id_unique()}}), Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.id_unique}})
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience. 

Steelshot / Bio

Steelshot was formed in the summer of 2008 by Richmond, VA based musicians Jay Yarbrough (guitars), Mike “Frog” Faba (bass), Brian Shaw (Drums) and Josh Duncan (vocals, guitar). They began tinkering around with the southern jam sound from influences such as Lynyrd Skynyrd, Blackfoot and Jason Aldean and mixing it with a hard rock sound the likes of Black Label Society (Zakk Wylde). After 3 years, their long awaited debut self-titled EP was released in the summer of 2011. Establishing the anthem sound that is Steelshot is the fan favorite song “Southern Pride” with its very distinct guitar riffs and downhome lyrics. On that release, the fans also heard songs with hard hitting, fast driving beats in “Alive Again” and “In Too Deep” or slowed it down with “Never Understand” and "Voices".

Soon after the release of the album, some major lineup changes took place. Leigh Waldron joined playing rhythm guitar, but soon would depart along with Brian Shaw. Ryan Nuttle (formerly of Boss Keans Ditch) joined filling in at rhythm guitar, and T.J. Sutherland took the reigns as drummer.
As of August, 2013 more lineup changes are taking place. Steelshot had a "break up" for a few months, regrouped, but ended up losing Mike (bass) to pursue his guitar playing skills in Zombie XXX. Steelshot welcomes Tommy Schoppe to the lineup at Bass and Wild Kyle at 3rd guitar as of September 2013.

Steelshot has performed locally at various venues, most notably at The National Theater, sharing the stage with a number of local and regional bands such as Bullistic, White Knuckle Battery, Proverbial, Thunderbrew, Automag, Seraph and Silvertung. Steelshot has also had the privilege of opening for national recording acts Craig Wayne Boyd, Faultline, Zoso the Led Zeppelin Experience, Die Cast, Mensrea, and Lukas Nelson & the Promise of the Real. The self-titled EP can be found at online stores everywhere.

Stay tuned for updates and Steelshot's plan for a new album in 2014.

General Info

Band Members
Duncan - Vocals / Jaybird - Guitar / TJ - Drums / Ryan - Guitar / Kyle- Guitar / Tommy - Bass
Artist Name
Profile Page
Active Since
Rock / Southern Rock/ Country Rock / Original Music

Contact Info

Richmond, VA

Similar Artists

  • Brantley Gilbert
  • Lynyrd Skynyrd
  • Blackberry Smoke
  • Randy Houser
  • Black Label Society