You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

San Francisco Composers Chamber Orc...

- US San Francisco, CA Classical


Listen to San Francisco Composers Chamber Orchestra


All Videos


  • 2011

    Jun 25

    San Francisco, CA, US | 8:00pm

    San Francisco, CA, US
    Sat Jun 25, 2011 8:00pm


    The remote you misplaced, the tune you can’t quite remember, the life you may have lived. You never know what you might find at the San Francisco Composers Chamber Orchestra’s Lost Things Found, 8pm, Saturday, June 25, at Old First Church, San Francisco — in musical items by John Beeman, Allan Crossman, Bernard Herrmann, Loren Jones, Sam Ostroff, Lisa Scola Prosek, William Severson, Martha Stoddard, and Davide Verotta. Among the places where lost objects will be found are the Mt. Eytan Gabriel Caves, where Jones will guide two young pianists through beautiful and treacherous treasures, and perhaps even A Simple Trifle, as offered in a string trio by Severson. A cached Collage of Beeman (with soprano Maria Mikheyenko) will usher in will usher in the Twilight Zone of Bernard Herrmann’s score to Little Girl Lost, featuring viola d’amorist Roland Kato accompanied by quartets of flutes and harps, conducted by John Kendall Bailey. Verotta will pianistically explore in Imaginations, while Stoddard leads other musical search parties in Ostroff’s earnest Before You Read, Scola Prosek’s intriguing Churchill in the Bath (showcasing tenor John Duykers), and her own diverting Windsong Variations. The final excursion of the evening will take listeners and vocalists searchingly across an ocean of the avant and traditional in Crossman’s sing-along Loch Lomond, conducted by Mark Alburger.

  • 2010

    Sep 25

    San Francisco, CA, US | 8:00pm

    San Francisco, CA, US
    Sat Sep 25, 2010 8:00pm


    What is reality? Sentient beings clamoring for existence, the wind whistling through leafy vegetation, the silence and noise of this stony planet. Come along on musical safari with the San Francisco Composers Chamber Orchestra in Animal, Vegetable, Mineral — a tour of the Earth’s scenic and sonic wonders, in compositions by Michael Cooke, Loren Jones, Jorge Liderman, Terry Riley, Lisa Scola Prosek, Erling Wold, and Mark Alburger. The latter’s Animal Farm: Grand Zoological Fantasy-Variations is a dark, Orwellian spin on creatures great and small, including a visual presentation of surrealistically-altered YouTube videos. In biological distinction, Jones will offer Banyan: an aural giving-tree of multicultural musical delights. Answering this will be a revival of Riley’s celebrated minimalist-improvisatory anthem In C, in all of its crystalline and granitic splendor. Also along for the journey are Michael Cooke’s deeply-felt Love Letters; Lisa Scola Prosek’s vibrant Piano Sonata; a retrospective work of the late, great Jorge Liderman; and an exciting new work by Erling Wold. John Kendall Bailey will join Alburger in the zoomusicological tour-guiding responsibilities.

  • 2009

    Jun 13

    San Francisco, CA, US | 8:00pm

    San Francisco, CA, US
    Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:00pm


    SAN FRANCISCO, June 13, 2009 — Inspired by abstract ponderings, restless fears, and childlike hope, San Francisco’s one and only composers’ orchestra will explore the world of suggestion and dreams on June 13, 2009 at Old First Concert. This concert will bring to fruition new works by Mark Alburger, Michael Cooke, Allan Crossman, Philip Freihofner, Loren Jones, Lisa Scola Prosek, Davide Verotta plus a collaboration between Erling Wold and fognozzle. This final concert of the 08-09 season includes exotic and unique instruments, tribal rhythms, a fog and light show and great soloists! “A Baby Sleeps”, by Michael Cooke, will showcase Gangqin Zhao and the composer playing traditional Chinese instruments, the sheng and guzheng, in a variation on a Taiwanese lullaby. The Sonoglyph, an invention of featured soloist Tom Nunn’s, will be introduced by Allan Crossman’s composition “Plasticity”. Bay Area New Music giants will emerge with Lisa Scola Prosek’s “Voodoo Storm” featuring clarinetist Rachel Condry and Philip Freihofner’s monologue “Obelisk” featuring Rova saxophonist Steve Adams. Loren Jones’ “Eagle Bear Woman” and “Two Islands” will pay homage to his wife and Indonesian traditions respectively. Mark Alburger’s “King David Suite (The Young and the Restless)” will portray three angst-ridden youths (David, Jonathan, and Absalom). Davide Verotta’s sketch “Verso l’Immagine Feroce” (Toward the ferocious image), follows the ascent toward an incomprehensible force. Finally, the much anticipated collaboration between Erling Wold and fognozzle will rise above the fog (machine); “In the Stomachs of Fleas” will depict various outbreaks of the bubonic plague before and after the great San Francisco Earthquake in sonic and visual form. Don’t miss the dramatic and innovative season show (s)topper!

  • 2009

    Feb 28

    San Francisco, CA, US | 8:00pm

    San Francisco, CA, US
    Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:00pm
  • 2007

    Dec 7

    San Francisco, CA, US | 8:00pm

    San Francisco, CA, US
    Fri Dec 07, 2007 8:00pm


    SAN FRANCISCO, December 7, 2007 -- San Francisco Composers Chamber Orchestra's winter concert seeks to wax from the philosophical to the phantasmagorical through a stream of musical consciousness. Program: Mark Alburger..............The Wind God Harriet March Page, Mezzo-Soprano Michael Cooke.............Symphony No. 3 “Shadows of Japanese Children” Phil Freihofner..............The Bell Field & Camlilla Lisa Scola Prosek, Soprano Erik Jekabsen...............The Jungle Erik Jekabsen, Trumpet Lisa Scola Prosek........Dream Morphine from the Opera Trap Door Maria Mikhenyenko, Soprano & Clifton Romig, Baritone Jonathan Russell..........Double Bass Clarinet Concerto Squonk Duo "and the sea the sea in Harriet March Page's The Wind God set by Mark Alburger crimson sometimes like fire in Michael Cooke's Symphony No.3 "Shadows of Japanese Children" and the glorious sunsets of two movements entitled "Where has the Shadow's Father Gone?" and "The Mountain of One Thousand Good Fortunes is Ablaze!" and filigree of two works by Philip Freihofner as a garden of sound design in The Bell Field yes and you shall die-sweetly die- into lustrous eye of Carmilla sung by Lisa Scola Prosek and pink and blue and yellow flashes of house jazz for Erik Jekabsen's rosegardens in The Jungle and the musical jessamine and geraniums and cactuses of Dream Morphine from Trap Door as Flower of Lisa Scola Prosek with Maria Mikheyenko and Clifton Romig yes when Jonathan Russell put the bass clarinet in his mouth as half of the Squonk Duo for his Double Bass Clarinet Concerto or shall we say yes and how we listened at 8pm, Friday, December 7, and we thought well at Old First Church in San Francisco and then we asked them with our ears to ask again yes with the San Francisco Composers Chamber Orchestra and then we asked them would they say yes to new music and first we put our ears around the music yes and drew it in so we could feel our minds all expanding all perfume yes and our hearts were going like mad and yes we said yes said yes we will Yes" [with apologies to James Joyce].

All Shows


Be the first to ask San Francisco Composers Chamber Orchestra a question!

200 characters remaining
Submit Question


  • Video Plays 14

  • Total Fans 50

  • ReverbNation Fans 37

  • Widget Impressions 4


All Fans