x

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

The New Mastersounds / Blog

The New Mastersounds are a Hit on Winning HBO Documentary

NMS recently teamed up with the winning HBO Documentary "Nine Lives of Marion Barry" featuring 4 of our tracks. "The music is superb. In fact, I have not heard and seen music used this expertly in a documentary since Ken Burns' "Civil War." I know what high praise that is, and I mean it." - Baltimore Sun Download "Paranoid", "Bus Stop No 5", and "Rope a Dope" from our album "102%" and "Minx feat. Corrine Bailey Rae" from the album "Your Love is Mine" on iTunes now.

The New Mastersounds on HBO Aug 10th

The New Mastersounds are pleased to be part of the original HBO documentary "The Nine Lives of Marion Barry" airing Monday Aug 10th at 9pm/7pm CST. Our music is featured throughout the movie. A synopsis:To many, Marion Barry is remembered as the philandering drug-addled mayor of the nation's capital. To others, Marion Barry is a folk hero. Hailed as a civil rights champion and defender of the poor, his soaring achievements, catastrophic failures and phoenix-like rebirths have made him a symbol of mythic indestructibility. Today, to the dismay of some and the delight of others, Barry is once again in the political limelight.

The New MAstersounds at Trinumeral Festival

We are pleased to announce we’ve been added to the Trinumeral Festival (www.trinumeral.com) in Asheville, NC starting on 9/9/09. We’ll be joining The Glitch Mob, Toubab Krewe, RJD2, Pretty Lights and more for the five day music & arts festival. Also, we’ll be playing in our neck of the woods in March 2010 at Jam in the Dam. Check out the festival site for more info (www.jaminthedam.com)

Philly, All Good, Forecastle & JPF Nomination!

We've been nominated for Best Funk Song of 2009 by the Just Plain Folks Music Organization! Check it out here.

We're also wrapping up the 2nd leg of our summer tour this week. Catch us at:

TONIGHT: World Cafe Live - Philadelphia, PA Friday 7/10/09: All Good Music Festival - Masontown, WV Saturday 7/11/09: Forecastle Festival - Louisville, KY Sunday 7/12/09: Ottawa Blues Festival - Ottawa, ON

More NMS Tour Dates:

Tuesday 7/28/09: Ford Amphitheater - Vail, CO (FREE SHOW) Thursday 7/30/09: River Ranch Lodge - Tahoe City, CA Friday 7/31/09: Old Town Pub - Steamboat Springs, CO Saturday 8/1/09: Phamily Reunion - Idaho Springs, CO Sunday 8/2/09: Funk Fest - Acme, PA Friday 9/4/09: moe.down - Turin, NY Saturday 9/5/09: Equifunk - Equinunk, PA Monday 9/7/09: Bumbershoot - Seattle, WA Friday 9/11/09: Harvest Festival - Clarks Grove, MN 11/14 & 11/15/09: Bear Creek Music Festival - Live Oak, FL

For detailed info check out newmastersounds.com

Summer Tour- Bumbershoot, Harvest Fest, Tahoe & Steamboat Springs added!

We are proud to announce we've been added to 2 more festivals Bumbershoot Festival in Seattle and Harvest Fest in Minnesota. We are also taking a detour from Colorado to Tahoe City on 7/30! Check out The New Mastersounds as we tour throughout the midwest and beyond. This time we've partnered with Jambase to give away a pair of tickets to each of our our club shows with a grand prize pair of tickets to Bumbershoot. Check out the contest details here.

The New Mastersounds Tour Dates:

Jun 04-05 || Wakarusa Festival || Ozark, AR Sat Jun 06 || Double Door || Chicago, IL Sun Jun 07 || The Annex || Madison, WI Tue Jun 09 || The Cabooze || Minneapolis, MN Wed Jun 10 || The Waiting Room || Omaha, NE Thu Jun 11 || Crosstown Station || Kansas City,MO Fri Jun 12 || IC Yacht Club || Iowa City, IA Jul 03-04 || Pour House || Charleston, SC Sun Jul 05 || The Soapbox || Wilmington, NC Wed Jul 08 || Rocks Off Boat Cruise || New York, NY Thu Jul 09 || World Café Live || Philadelphia, PA Fri Jul 10 || All Good Music Festival || Masontown, WV Sat Jul 11 || Forecastle Festival || Louisville, KY Sun Jul 12 || Cisco Ottawa Blues || Ottawa, ON Tue Jul 28 || Ford Amphitheater || Vail, CO Thu Jul 30 || River Ranch Lodge || Tahoe City, CA Fri Jul 31 || Old Town Pub || Steamboat Springs, CO Sat Aug 01 || Phamily Reunion || Idaho Springs, CO Sun Aug 02 || Funk Fest || Acme, PA Sat Sep 05 || Equifunk || Equinunk, PA Fri Sep 11 || Harvest Fest || Clarks Grove, MN Mon Sep 07 || Bumbershoot Festival || Seattle, WA

For more info and links to buy tickets check out our website.

The New Mastersounds First Round of Spring Tour Dates

The New Mastersounds will be returning to the US this March for a west coast tour. The band will start in San Diego, CA with plenty of exciting stops along the way, including their first headlining show at The Fillmore in San Francisco, CA. The tour w ill wrap up in one of the band’s favorite stomping grounds Colorado on March 28th. The New Mastersounds have also implemented a new fan club for online ticket sales that will give members the benefit of lower ticket fees and buying directly from the band’s website. Tickets for the March tour will go on sale Wednesday January, 28th. (http://newmastersounds.inticketing.com/) More March dates will be announced soon so check back for an update at www.newmastersounds.com

THE NEW MASTERSOUNDS INITIAL MARCH TOUR DATES: Mar 10 Tue San Diego CA Winston's Mar 11 Wed Los Angeles CA The Mint Mar 12 Thu Santa Barbara CA SOhO Mar 15 Sun Sebastopol CA Hop Monk Mar 13 Fri San Francisco CA The Fillmore Mar 14 Sat Crystal Bay NV Tahoe Biltmore Breeze Mar 15 Sun Sebastopol CA Hop Monk Mar 17 Tue Portland OR Doug Fir Lounge