You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

The Bruises / Bio

Make no mistake, THE BRUISES are out to charm you. Sometimes flirtatiously sweet, other times seductively brooding, the four-piece rock band from San Francisco packs a punch and seals it with a kiss. With a polished sound and a captivating live show that’s tight as hell, THE BRUISES meld classic rock bravado and indelible power pop hooks with unapologetic ease, by way of dueling female harmonies and a serrated double guitar attack that have become the band’s signature.

A decade in the making, the songwriting collaboration of Aja Blue (lead vox/guitar) and Jen Black (lead guitar/vox) forms the core of the band and the foundation for an ever-evolving sound. With the addition of a powerhouse rhythm section (Tamara Waite on drums, Clayton Vorheis on bass), the band released its most recent EP "Motion Light" in March 2011. The album was recorded at San Francisco’s Faultline Studios, with two LA all-stars on board for post production---mixing by Michael Eisenstein (Letters to Cleo, Nina Gordon, Lisa Loeb, Juliana Hatfield) and mastering by Hans DeKline (The Von Bondies, Joey Santiago of the Pixies, Morcheeba, Tim Finn of Crowded House). THE BRUISES continue to tour in support of the effort and anticipate a return to the studio in late 2011.

Aja Blue // lead vocals/guitar
Jen Black // lead guitar/vocals
Clayton Vorheis // bass
Tamara Waite // drums

In 2001, Aja Blue and Jen Black started THE BRUISES in Peoria, Illinois. The following year, they toured extensively across the U.S. in support of their debut LP “Last Summer”. In 2004, the pair trekked to Los Angeles, where they began to hone a fuller rock sound and recorded the EP "Ladies and Gentlemen....", their first full band effort. After a year in LA, Blue and Black relocated to San Francisco. In late 2006, the band returned to the studio with producer Scott Tusa (Scissors For Lefty, Matt Lutz) to lay the groundwork for the full-length record “Connected”, released 2008.

THE BRUISES music has been featured on MTV's “The Real World”, "Parental Control", and HERE Network's "Dante's Cove". They have shared the stage with such notable acts as The Subways, Corin Tucker (Sleater Kinney), Berlin, The English Beat, The Muffs, The Ettes, Von Iva, The Trophy Fire, The Love Me Nots, and Persephone’s Bees.

General Info

Band Members
Aja Blue, Jen Black, Clayton Vorheis, Tamara Waite
Artist Name
The Bruises
Home Page
Active Since
Rock / Indie Rock / Pop

Contact Info

San Francisco, CA