Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}}, Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.data.type}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

Sweet Savage / Bio

Sweet Savage formed in 1978 and later became part of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal (NWOBHM). The band members were Vivian Campbell on guitar, Trev Fleming on guitar, David Bates on drums and Ray Haller on bass and vocals.

In 1980 Sweet Savage released their first single " Take No Prisoners " Which included the NWOBHM classic track " Killing Time " reaching No. 1 in the NWOBHM charts.

During this period they toured Britain with bands such as Budgie / Motorhead / Wild Horses / Wishbone Ash / Ozzy Osbourne and Thin Lizzy ( Renegade Tour ) the latter they supported at the first Slane Castle festival in 1981. After recording two further singles ( never released ) Vivian Campbell left the band to pursue other music projects including DIO and Whitesnake, finally settling in as a lead guitarist for Def Leppard after the tragic death of Steve Clark.

It has been widely noted that it was the influence of the music of Sweet Savage that inspired the young members of Metallica to start the band in the early 80’s, the energy and sound of Sweet Savage proved to be what they were looking for in a band of their own. In the late 90's Metallica covered Sweet Savage track "Killing Time" for their Garage Inc. record, after its mainstream release and performance live in concert, there was large interest in music of Sweet Savage and as a result the band released 2 new studio records.

The first full length studio release was 1996’s Killing Time, the second release was 1998’s Rune, both of which were brought out on UK label, Neat Metal Records.

In 2008, the band reformed with demand for them to play summer European Rock Festivals, the lineup of the band then included Ian Wilson on guitar, Trev Fleming on guitar, new addition Jules Watson on drums and Ray Haller on bass and vocals. The run of festival appearances was finished off playing with Metallica in Dublin's Marlay Park where James Hetfield joined the band on stage to sing Killing Time

In 2009, Sweet Savage entered the studio and began recording their 3rd record to be called Warbird.

In 2009, along with German Queen of Rock Doro, Sweet Savage toured as part of Saxon's Battalions Of Steel II Tour around the UK and Ireland, in addition to this a number of solo shows were played introducing Belfast audiences to the new material. This was followed up by support slots with Motorhead, MSG, Winger, Deep Purple and Iron Maiden. The band made their first Sonisphere appearance in Knebworth Park on Aug 1st 2010.

October 2010 tragically saw the passing of founding member Trev Fleming, having been missed from the lineup and treated for an illness. With continued rehearsal and the addition of new guitarist Phil Edgar, the band have since played support slots on Thin Lizzy's European tour and released the new studio album, now called renamed Regeneration....

The current lineup now includes Ian Wilson on guitar, Phil Edgar on guitar, Marty McCloskey on drums and Ray Haller on bass and vocals.

General Info

Band Members
Ray Haller - Bass & Vocals, Ian Wilson - Guitar, Phil Edgar - Guitar, Marty McCloskey - Drums
Artist Name
Sweet Savage
Home Page
Active Since
Rock / Metal

Contact Info

Belfast, NIR, UK

Similar Artists

  • Metallica
  • Deep Purple (1968-1976)
  • Saxon The Band
  • Thin Lizzy