Logged In As Admin: {{reverbUser.name}}, Acting As: {{reverbPageObject.data.name}} ({{reverbPageObject.data.type}})

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

Truth B. Told / Bio

WINNER, 2012 NPA Spoken Word Album of the Year, 2013 National Poetry Award Spoken Word Artist of the Year

Blurring the lines between conscious hip hop, poetry, neo-soul and inspirational music, Truth’s lyrics and style defy the limitations of categorization. He’s performed at black-tie events, night clubs, coffee shops, rock concert halls and churches throughout the country and consistently delivers work the audience embraces. This multiple slam champion and 2012 National Poetry Award Spoken Word Album of the Year winner has garnered the attention and respect of audiences & peers alike, including internationally acclaimed poets such as Taalam Acey, J. Ivy, and Shihan, among others.

He has opened for acts such as Mint Condition, Elle Varner, Jazmine Sullivan, Chrisette Michele, Dwele, and Bilal. His debut CD, "Lyrical Therapy, Volume One" has received critical praise and the follow up project, "LTV2: The Death & Rebirth of Christopher Owens, Parts 1 & 2", has helped push spoken word even further into the mainstream, garnering respect from those who previously never considered listening to spoken word.

Never one to limit himself, Truth B. Told has also stepped into the acting arena with a cameo appearance in the film "How You Look To Me" featuring Frank Langella (of "Frost/Nixon"). Truth B. Told was also highlighted recently on a vignette for KFC Pride 360, shown during Black History Month on BET in 2011. In December 2013, Truth B. Told made history by being a part of the first spoken word event to headline on the Las Vegas strip. 2014 has plenty in store, including an upcoming album, as well as a debut book.

General Info

Band Members
Truth B. Told
Artist Name
Truth B. Told
Home Page
Active Since
Spoken Word / Hip Hop / Neo Soul

Contact Info

Phoenix, AZ

Similar Artists

  • Lupe Fiasco
  • Common
  • Gil Scott-Heron
  • Wale
  • Mos Def Official