You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

AMERICAanonymous / Bio

2014 – Written in multiple studios and sometimes dreary rehearsal spaces,

AMERICAanonymous’ self titled debut EP touches on dark conceit and passionate

sophistication. Selected from the first collaborative collection of music created by

Michael Furrer (vocals/occasional percussion), Todd Hoenicke (bass), Seth Bawcum

(guitar), Brian Smith (horns, percussion, keys) and Robert McMahan (drums), this

5 song EP embodies the sonic departure from their previous endeavors they were

searching for. “As we started our creative process, working together for the first time,

we immediately knew we were hitting on something different. We would favor a riff

that one of us brought in, building on it to collectively create a song that we felt was

meaningful and congruent. It just felt natural.” Each song is a concept brought to reality.

From “theMEMO’s” jazz occupied rhythm to “Lying on Sunbeams’” 1960’s psychedelic

rock infusion, each song has been sculpted to selfishly fulfill their vision. “Lyrically I

wanted to fill the listener with a storied theme for them to run with and interpret however

they saw fit. There is a specific purpose/story there but leaving room was warranted

as our listeners discover the relation to their personal lives”. Furrer credits this open

ended writing to the flexibility and unrestricted process they allow. “There are no bad

ideas, everything is brought to the table, it’s just that some things speak to us louder.

Sometimes we beat up an idea for hours, realize it isn't going to make it, and then

months later come back to it, reinventing it completely”.

The idea of self titling their first EP was based on an effort to simply identify the group

and set a point of origin for future work.

2012 – Conceived in multiple recording studios and backroom rehearsal spaces,

AMERICAanonymous have been madly scheming, creating a fervent brand of music.

This indie-alt collaboration between musicians and friends Michael Furrer (vocals/

occasional percussion), Todd Hoenicke (bass), Seth Bawcum (guitar), Brian Smith

(horns, percussion, keys) and Robert McMahan (drums) has surprised and enraptured a

worldwide audience via web and live performance.

The five piece (originating from Detroit) pulls from a scattered array of influences that

make their sound familiar but not obvious, touching on early 20th

surreal moments of melodic elegance au courant Louie Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald,

delicate hints of swing based beats, sometimes raw guitar junk blues, late 60’s rock

fired reaction and vocals that firmly grasp the entire spectrum.

When asked about this amalgamation of sound they make a home in, Furrer replied

“We are really just the mechanism of our predecessors” They thrive on the idea of

being a conduit in which music emanates, reinvigorating the musical expression of life

experience, delineating the storied sequences that inter-operate between us. Live they

are locked in, groove connecting the audience with their stripped down, roots based

sound. Sometimes spacey and often crunchy, it’s difficult to not be moved, leaving

skeptics questioning their own humanity!

General Info

Band Members
Rob Mcmahan - Drums, Todd Hoenicke - Bass, Seth Bawcum - Guitar, Michael Furrer - Vocals, & Brian Smith - Horn
Artist Name
Home Page
Active Since
Indie / Blues / Jazz / Alternative / Rock

Contact Info

Detroit, MI

Similar Artists

  • The Dead Weather
  • Bill Withers
  • Qotsa
  • Charles Mingus
  • The Doors