You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

Doug Lofstrom and the New Quartet / Bio

Composer and bassist Doug Lofstrom, formerly composer-in-residence for the Metropolis Symphony Orchestra and musical director of Chicago's Free Street Theater, has composed and arranged a wealth of stunning orchestral and chamber music. His works have been performed by the St. Louis, Indianapolis, and Milwaukee Symphony Orchestras, and the Present Music, Tales & Scales and Revolution Chamber Ensembles, among others. He is currently on the faculty of Chicago's Columbia College.

Violinist James Sanders regularly performs with the Ravinia Festival Orchestra and Symphony. Multi-reedist Michael Levin has performed with artist as diverse as Diane Schurr, Clark Terry, and the Temptations. Pianist Leandro Lopez-Varady originally from Argentina, recently settled in Chicago after touring the Far East with jazzman Eldee Young.

In addition to Lofstrom's cross-genre chamber music, the New Quartet features tangos by Astor Pizzolla, chamber music of Bach, Mozart, Bartok and Stravinsky and early classics from the Duke Ellington Orchestra.

General Info

Artist Name
Doug Lofstrom and the New Quartet
Home Page
Classical / World

Contact Info

Chicago, IL