You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

The Joint / Bio

The Joint has carried a solid "Vintage Modern" sound since 2010 when the final line-up of the band came to be. Jon Tyler Smith, Aaron Tymec, Warren Gies, and Tyler Hodgkinson have a strong, raw, electric sound which prevails in their live shows nightly. Hard at work in studios and on the road, the group strives to complete diverse, honest records that stay true to their sound. With their new album “BitterSweet”, the band will be hitting stages around Canada and the U.S.

Their first show together and milestone as a band was in Oshawa's annual "Bandwarz" competition 2010, where they won the studio time used to record their first EP entitled “Just A Taste" (released January 21 2011). The next would be their 1st place win in the Triumph Musician Search Contest 2011 with their song/music video for “The Preacher” after competing with numerous bands in the Durham Region. These experiences together would eventually lead them to begin recording their first full length album in the summer of 2011. It was many of the bands early songs that came to make up the album, appropriately titled “Young Essence” which was released in the fall of 2012. “Young Essence” was recorded at Chalet Studios in Claremont, ON with engineer Theo Posthumus and took one year to complete. The band has since released 4 singles from the album in the form of music videos including the title track, and “Livin’ With You”, for which they won Music Video of the Year at the Broken Arts Music Awards in 2014

The Joint’s latest release “BitterSweet” is an album with a bit more of a polished edge in comparison to the band's debut. While it still retains The Joint’s basic rock n’ roll sound, it is definitely an expansion in terms of songwriting and instrumentation that goes beyond a traditional 4 piece rock band set up. On June 3 2014 the band used an appearance on “Rogers Daytime” TV to announce the upcoming release of “BitterSweet” on June 17 2014. The album was recorded at Coalition Studios in Toronto, ON with engineer David Henriques. The Joint began work on the album in the Fall of 2013 and emerged Spring 2014 with 10 original songs that reflect what the band had been writing over the past couple of years.

In the fall of 2014 The Joint will head out on their first extensive North American tour. The “All Dolled Up” Tour 2014 will take them across Canada before heading down the west coast of the United States and back again in support of “BitterSweet”.

The Joint is:

Jon Tyler Smith – Vocals/Guitar
Aaron Tymec – Guitar
Warren Gies – Drums
Tyler Hodgkinson – Bass Guitar

The Joint's new album "BitterSweet" is available at www.musicglue.com/thejoint
"Young Essence" available on iTunes

Also available locally at:
Wilson and Lee Music Store (Oshawa, ON)
Wasted Space (Oshawa, ON)
The Music Scene (Whitby, ON)
Red Eye Espresso (Toronto, ON)

Stay with us on Facebook, Twitter and Youtube!

General Info

Band Members
Jon Tyler Smith/ Aaron Tymec/ Warren Gies/ Tyler Hodgkinson
Artist Name
The Joint
Home Page
Active Since
Rock / & / Roll

Contact Info

Whitby, ON, CA

Similar Artists

  • The Darkness
  • Sloan
  • Aerosmith
  • The Rolling Stones
  • Jet