You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

1877 / Bio

1877 are a four-piece alternative electronic rock band from Aylesbury in Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom.

The band formed early 2005 sharing an ideal to create music that would stir and assault the senses. Members currently include Nik Hearn, Chris Butler, Steven Belfrage and Kishan Callychurn. They are all directly inspired by the energy and outstanding contributions made by champions of music such as Joy Division, Sonic Youth, Radiohead, Aphex Twin, Sigur Ros and Godspeed You! Black Emperor but to name a few.

The new-wave, industrial influence on their sound is shrouded beneath dense layers of effects pedals, circuit-bent Casio and Yamaha keyboards, samplers, drum machines and lap-tops. 1877 are an unapologetically intense soundscape of motorik drone, whip-snapping electro drive and rumbling, monochrome vocals. They create repetitive, tuneful dirges that explode into frustration and paranoid atmospherics via stories of irresponsible adolescence.

At their core 1877 are punk rock minimalists who, through the manipulation of sonic instrumentation, forge a sound that exudes despair, catharsis and a sense of alienation. Above all, this group sounds like nobody else.

General Info

Band Members
Chris Butler, Nik Hearn, Kishan Callychurn and Steven Belfrage
Artist Name
Home Page
Active Since
Alternative / Electronic / New Wave

Contact Info

Aylesbury, BKM, UK

Similar Artists

  • Depeche Mode
  • Errors
  • New Order
  • Nine Inch Nails
  • Atoms for Peace