You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your ReverbNation experience.

Walking Bear / Bio

Walking Bear is the brainchild of Bryan, Tx musician Chad Petty. What began as a solo project has grown into a full band experience featuring Nicholas Bauer on organ and piano, Petty on guitar, vocals, and harmonica, Lyndsey Torres on bass, Brandon Barnes (formerly of Legacy Fails) on lead guitar, and Marty Chronister (formerly of Bonnie Blue) on drums. Walking Bear has grown from an all acoustic folk act, with hints of bluegrass ballads and dark gospel back tones, to a an outright fusion of folk, alt country, blues, whiskey, and rock and roll.

Chad has grown from lead guitarist in various metal/hardcore bands growing up in Houston, to a prolific songwriter in the genres of folk, blues, and rock and roll. He arranges pieces with a dark, heartfelt, and interestingly "old soul" manner. A multi-instrumentalist, playing such instruments as mandolin, banjo, guitar, harmonica, drums, bass, and more, chad keeps it simple and lively in his solo performances. His on-stage presence and performance is truly a "One Man Band" experience. As a full band, Walking Bear is an unstoppable force to be reckoned with.

Nicholas Bauer is a musical genius, sporting instruments such as organ, piano, banjolele, and accordion, to name a few.

Lyndsey Torres is the kind of bassist you want in a band, methodical, witty, and full of ideas, and fantastic arrangements.

Marty Chronister, former vocalist of Bonnie Blue, has come on board to keep the band in time. He's the kind of drummer who puts the "rock" back in "Folk/Rock."

Brandon Barnes, former lead guitarist of Legacy Fails, brings the band to a full 5 peice band. He adds the last element needed in any rock n' roll band, sometimes hard driven, sometimes subtle and mysterious lead guitar.

This is the perfect storm of sorts. Walking Bear brings a new kind of band to the table.

Chad toured with Gina Chavez (Austin, Tx) in Feb. 2012, representing his full band while on tour. Tour stops included: Bryan, Tx, Dallas, Tx, Little Rock, Arkansas, and Memphis Tennessee. Keep a look out for new tour dates for 2013!

General Info

Band Members
Chad Petty-Guitar/Lead Vocals, Nicholas Bauer-Organ, Lyndsey Torres-Bass, Marty Chronsiter-Drums
Artist Name
Walking Bear
Home Page
Indie / Alt. Country / Rock

Contact Info

Bryan, TX

Similar Artists

  • Ryan Adams and The Cardinals
  • Bob Dylan
  • Wilco